Posted by: Hil | February 27, 2009

Fat Tuesday

CIMG0903

My clever husband has whipped up a temporary fix for my camera-to-computer communication problems, so I hereby present my belated Fat Tuesday dinner.  I’m not one to go all out for Mardi Gras, but thought that a nice steak dinner seemed appropriate.  The Lemonator marinated a piece of flank steak overnight in Blueberry Mom’s secret all-purpose marinade (soy sauce and crushed garlic), then grilled it.  I handled the sides:  sweet potato fries and creamed spinach with smoked sheep cheese.  I love sweet potato fries and the meat was cooked perfectly, but I could have made a dinner out of the spinach alone.  It was just rich enough and the smoked cheese really brought a new dimension to the dish.  Here’s how I did it:

First, a package of frozen chopped spinach.  Thaw it in the microwave (or however), then squeeze out all the excess liquid.  A dish towel works the best, in my experience, but it tends to leave permanent green stains, so I usually just use paper towels to wring out the spinach.

CIMG0891

Next, make a roux:  combine a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of flour and stir constantly until the roux becomes liquidy and golden brown.  Add a half cup of milk and stir until you have a thickened sauce.  Next, add the spinach and stir to combine.  At this point, add 1.5 ounces or so of grated cheese.  I used a smoked sheep cheese which I highly recommend.  If you can’t find any, feel free to substitute whatever cheese you have on hand, but try to use something with some nuttiness and character…it will stand up better to the spinach.  Finally, season with salt, pepper and a generous sprinkle of nutmeg.

CIMG0898 

I am seriously considering making this spinach again later this week and just eating it as a main dish…it’s that good.

CIMG0900 

For lunch today, I packed an old favorite:  steak and spinach salad.  I love this, because whenever I have leftover steak on hand, lunch practically makes itself and I always feel like I’m getting a treat when lunch time comes.  My method is pretty much to throw some baby spinach and sliced steak into a tupperware and pack some homemade vinaigrette on the side. 

CIMG0907

Here’s a tip:  when you want to pack a single serving of salad dressing, try using a Ziploc bag.  Just add vinegar, oil and, if you want, mustard to a Ziploc bag and give it a few good squishes with your hand right before serving.  The bag is much easier to pour with than you would think, and provides a nice thin, even stream…whenever I pack dressing in cups, I always end up pouring out too much at once.

CIMG0910 

With a cup of veggie soup (from leftover) and some crackers, it was a perfect work lunch.

CIMG0913

Also, this has nothing to do with food, but I have an official new high in my Los Angeles celebrity sighting list.  I don’t tend to hang out in any celebrity heavy locales, so my list isn’t very impressive, but a lot of filming occurs downtown, so I’ve run across a number of television casts over the last several months.  Yesterday I saw none other than Nathan Fillion.  It’s my impression that he’s well known to Joss Whedon fans and somewhat obscure to the rest of the world…he was the star of Firefly and Serenity, and he’s done guest stints on Desperate Housewives, Lost and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  (True nerds will know him as Captain Hammer from Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog.)  He’s filming a new show (I think it’s called Castle?), and they were filming right down the street from work.

Nathan-Fillion_l

Happy Friday!

Responses

  1. SWEET POTATOES!! SPINACH!! Love.

    Fun sighting!!

  2. Whoa, that is so cool with the celebrity sighting!
    And oh wow, delicious eats!! Spinach!

  3. He’s so hot 😀

    That food sounds out of this world. I am craving steak so much right now…

  4. I’M A TRUE NERD! I love Dr. Horrible! My hubs and I sing it when we are drunk – I mean – really – how cool are we? 😛

  5. I must try that creamed spinach when I get home! And who doesnt love sweet potato fries?!

  6. gosh that spinach does sound really good. i bet that smoked sheeps milk cheese adds a really nice flavor. i might have to try that this week, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

