Posted by: Hil | March 9, 2009

Pork Tenderloin with Pomegranate Sauce

CIMG0992

I have recently discovered that I love pork tenderloin.  It’s tender and flavorful and provides a great lean alternative to the usual chicken and fish.  I decided to play around today and make a sauce for the pork with some of my Pom Wonderful juice.  I was very happy with how the dish turned out.  My inspiration was turkey with cranberry sauce, and I actually liked this even better.  The pomegranate is milder than cranberry and the pork is more flavorful than turkey, so the flavors actually complemented each other rather than competing.  I often find fruity sauces too sweet, but this was just right.  Here’s how to make it:

For the pork: rub a pork tenderloin with salt, black pepper pepper, rosemary, garlic and cayenne pepper.  You can use other herbs if you like, but I really recommend the cayenne…the spicy interplays nicely with the sweetness of the sauce. Roast at 350 for around 50 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads between 150 and 160, depending on how rare you like your pork.

For the sauce, reduce half a cup of pomegranate juice in a sauce pan by about half.  Season with cinnamon, lots of freshly ground black pepper, and a dash of Worcestershire sauce.  Stir in a pat of butter at the end. Let the sauce cool slightly before serving. If you have extra, it keeps in the fridge very well–just bring it to room temperature and give it a good mix to reincorporate the butter.

Responses

  1. Great looking recipe!

  2. Thanks for you insight about Living Buddha, Living Christ. As I discover my own spirituality, I really appreciate opinions that aren’t pushy and judgemental. I think pushy and judgemental is part of my organized religion hasn’t been my thing. People like you restore my faith that there is some good left. So, thanks for that.

  3. Oh wow, pomegranate sauce? Awesome!

  4. That’s a great idea! I have some POM coupons so maybe I’ll give this recipe a try 🙂

  5. This is such a unique spin on pom juice, sounds great!

  6. looks awesome!

  7. Yum!


Leave a Reply

Categories

