Posted by: Hil | March 12, 2009

Giveaway!

Hey guys–I have a chance to give a Quaker Gift Bag to a lucky reader.  The gift bag contains a bathrobe and slippers made of organic cotton and a box of the new Quaker Simple Harvest Granola bars.  I am excited to receive mine and I am looking forward to sharing one with a reader. 

To enter, just leave a comment either a) telling me why you read food blogs in general or this blog in particular, b) suggesting a topic for a future post you would like to see or c) sharing your favorite, quick weeknight dinner menu.  I will enter you a second time if you link back to this post.  In a week, I will pick a winner randomly.

Jenn is also giving away one of these gift bags, so be sure to check out her blog as well!

Responses

  1. I read food blogs to get ideas on healthy meals that are easy to make. I am living on my own for the first time and want to make healthy food choices! πŸ™‚

  2. I love reading your blog because of the stories and and meal ideas!!

  3. because youre awesommmmmmmmmme!!

  4. These robes are everywhere!

    I read food blogs because I like getting recipe ideas and seeing how other people treat and eat food πŸ™‚ I read your blog because you’re honest!

  5. I read them for inspiration – and they never disappoint!

  6. I love reading food blogs b/c they give me great ideas for yummy, healthful snacks and meals.

  7. I started reading food blogs when you introduced me to them, Hil. And now I keep reading them for new and interesting ideas for what to have for breakfast/lunch/dinner!

  8. Reading food blogs encourages me to stay healthy πŸ™‚

  9. I read food blogs because I love seeing what sort of creations other people make and I enjoy learning about new products. Food bloggers have introduced me to so many new foods (like Greek style yogurt and bars galore)!

  10. Hi, thanks for the opportunity! My favorite quick weekend meal is actually breakfast for supper! I love making a cheesy, veggie-filled omelet and having a toasted, buttered english muffin and veggie sausages on the side! Yum, now I’m hungry πŸ™‚

  11. I like reading blogs to see all of the yummy eats and snag ideas! A favorite quick dinner…..quesadillas, grileld tuna sandwiches, pasta, salad……..simple but delicious-ness!

  12. I linkeed back!

    http://nutritiousisdelicious.blogspot.com/2009/03/i-never-thought-this-day-would-come.html

  13. i love reading blogs because it helps me make my health a priority!

  14. WOW I want the gift bag!!
    I love reading food blogs because I’m curious to see what other people eat and it gives me good ideas about healthy eating.
    I especially love to see all the great yummy pictures on your blog and they make me drool over my pc πŸ™‚

  15. May Canadians enter? I read food blogs in order to get ideas about things I want to cook and to be inspired in general to be more creative.

  16. Oh wow, too cool! I read food blogs, because I love food. =)

  17. i’ll answer all 3!

    a) I read for great meal ideas and pretty pictures, but mostly for the great friendships!

    b) I recently did an exercise where I wrote down a list of things that I wish I could tell myself 4 years ago (before starting college, but it could be however long ago you want). Mostly it was to relax and enjoy life, but it could interesting to have a post like that—what advice you would give to your younger self.

    c) at school my go-to quick dinner is a sweet potato topped with cottage cheese and a veggie burger and salad. At home with my stove, I love making omelettes!

  18. […] BlueberryHil has more Quaker goodies […]

  19. I love reading food blogs because I’m a foodie, and I’m curious about what other people enjoy eating. I also love new food product reviews and ideas on what to cook/bake.

  20. I just linked back πŸ™‚

  21. Food blogs are a great way for me to escape from the world of medicine (i’m a med student), and give me some easy but healthy ideas to for food. One less stress in my life and always oh so drool-worthy! Cheers!

  22. I read food blogs because it inspires me to maintain a healthy lifestyle. And I love finding new recipes and products!

  23. I read food blogs because they help motivate me to eat healthy and give me interesting ideas for cooking (I love the Indian dishes that you sometimes feature!).

  24. I love reading your blog because of your realistic view of food and exercise. Your blog feels very genuine to me and I appreciate that.

  25. Reading food blogs helps keep me “on the wagon” of healthy eating.

  26. i read food blogs to get healthy eating ideas and to be able to compare how i have eaten to how i could/should have eaten.

    i also love the fitness blogs because they have inspired me to run and do yoga!

  27. I love your blog because you provide awesome, thought provoking opinions and also involve The Lemonator, which I find to be so much fun πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the link back love, too!

  28. Favorite week-night meal: whole grain rotini, put “just out of the pot hot” on baby spinach (so that the spinach wilts), topped with grape tomatoes, sliced mushrooms, black olives, broccoli, and feta cheese! So delicious and easy, plus a fast way to make leftovers for the next few days.

  29. My favorite weeknight dinner is pumpkin burritos. I fill 4 small corn tortillas with the following mixture:
    – 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
    – 1/4 cup black beans
    – Dijon mustard
    – soy sauce
    – minced garlic
    – chili powder
    – cumin
    – pinch of cayenne
    I top the burritos with a little jalapeno-flavored rice cheese, bake it at 400*F-ish for 10-ish minutes, the spoon some Quark over the top. Yummo! It’s about 300 calories, and completely delicious.

  30. haha my favorite weekenight dinner menu would deffinately be scrambled eggs and toast or cereal. I would eat breakfast 24/7 if I could πŸ™‚

  31. Ooh that’s a fantastic giveaway!

    I read food blogs in general for some tasty recipes; specific food blogs (like yours) I read because I like “getting to know” the people writing them πŸ™‚

    Favorite quick dinner is a grilled sandwich hehe.

  32. i read them mostly for tasty recipes and inspiration! it’s so easy to get into “ruts”, that it’s nice to see different ways to combine ingredients!

    my easy meal (yes, even dinner)– eggs πŸ™‚

  33. I read blogs for inspiration-especially eating disorder recovery blogs.
    An easy meal for me is boca vegan burgers.

  34. Hello!

    I just started reading your blog. I love it! Anyway, to answer A), I like health-oriented food blogs because I am a busy college student. Food blogs give great, fast, healthy ideas.

    I love blogs like yours because I made a volte-face from my naive, former viewpoint of “as long as it’s low calorie!” in terms of weight loss. I love learning about new, exciting foods (or ancient rediscovered ones). Whole food eating is a way of life!

  35. I read food blogs for inspiration and ideas for new healthy meals!
    Have a great Friday!

  36. I read food blogs because I love food. There are so many recipes and things out there I don’t know that I like perusing the blogs to get new ideas and try to use different foods and spices I have never ever used. Plus, I like looking at what others are up to.

  37. i read them for fun ;]
    and inspiration for new healthy eats!

  38. i read food blogs because they give me ideas for creative and quick (but not boring) meals. well and also to keep me motivated because i’m recovering from anorexia&bulimia. a fun and supereasy dinner = veggie burger on an ezekiel english muffin, kale chips, and 1/2 of a sweet potato or sweet potato fries. delish!

  39. […] of all, thank you to all of the new readers who came out of the woodwork for my Quaker gift bag giveaway!  I’ve delighted to see so many new names pop up and I hope you all stick around and […]

  40. My favorite weekday dinner is baked tofu and roasted butternut squash with fresh baby spinach sauteed in garlic and a mini bag of popcorn for desert!

  41. Kasha and Bowties.. it’s Quick and Easy!! YUM YUM!
    Here’s whatcha Need!
    * 1 package bowties noodles (if you can get whole wheat, all the better!!!)
    * Cooking Spray
    * 1 large onion, finely chopped
    * 2 cup kasha
    * 1/2 cup egg beaters or 2 egg whites
    * 4 cups Veggie Broth
    * 1 teaspoon salt (I do not use.. My broth is salty enough)
    * 1/4 teaspoon pepper (hahha… I use a ton.. I like it spicy!!)

    1. Cook bowtie noodles according to package directions. Drain. Set aside.
    2. In a heavy frying pan with a cover, heat cooking spray. Saute the onions (for approximately 5 minutes). Set aside.
    3. In a bowl, beat the egg beaters. Stir the kasha into the egg so that all the kernals are coated.
    4. Pour the egg-covered kasha into the frying pan. Fry over high heat, stirring, until the egg has dried and kernels are separate (for approximately 3 minutes).
    5. Meanwhile, in a saucepan, or microwave bring 4 cups of broth to a boil.
    6. Pour the hot liquid over the kasha. Add the onion and seasonings. Cover and simmer on low heat until all the liquid has been absorbed (for 25 minutes).
    7. While the kasha is still warm, stir in the bowtie noodles.

    Some people like to melt some margarine over their Kasha… Not me.. I like it with a few grinds of Pepper! Oh boy is it some Comfort food from my childhood!!

  42. […] Harvest bars will be forthcoming in the next couple of days.  If you haven’t entered to win a gift box of your own, there’s still time.  Winners will be chosen on Thursday […]

  43. I looove reading blogs like yours because:
    1.) Food bloggers have THE best recipes and food combination ideas so the same ingredients NEVER get boring
    2.) Looking at food makes me happy!
    3.) Your blog has perfectly happy and joyful colors that cheer me up and entertain me when I’m not feelin’ it!!! πŸ™‚

  44. Reading food blogs like this one inspire me to keep eating healthy and also provide great meal ideas. Thanks!

  45. I just started reading your blog today! Cool! I love reading blogs to check out new products and get creative ideas for meals πŸ™‚

  46. I think food blogs are a good medium to learn new healthy recipes and also variation of the already know ones!

  47. […] can check out Leslie’s original recipe in the comments section of this post. The recipe below reflects what I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

