Posted by: Hil | March 16, 2009

Dover Sole in Lemon-Caper Butter Sauce

CIMG1059

For the most part, I’m all about fast, functional cooking, but on weekends, I love to take a little bit of extra time to cook something fun.  I had some Dover Sole fillets in the fridge to use up.  Dover Sole is a very bland fish, so I knew that I needed to add a sauce to make it more interesting.  I came up with this preparation in honor of the Lemonator, who will devour anything in lemon caper butter sauce.  I had never tried to make a sauce like this before, but I think I did pretty well.

Normally for a dish like this, I would pan cook the fish, but these fillets were so paper thin that I knew they would fall apart when I flipped them.  Oven cooking made a good alternative.  I gave them a quick rub with salt, pepper, evoo and lemon zest.  I also squeezed a little lemon juice over them before I remembered that citrus “cooks” fish (think ceviche).  The lemon did “cook” the fish a little, but the end result was mostly okay.  I then put the fish in the oven at 350.  How long it will take to cook the fish depends on the thickness of the fish, but I would suggest to start keeping an eye on your fish after ten minutes to fifteen minutes.

CIMG1041

Now for the sauce.  I completely winged this, but it turned out very well.  First, add the juice of a lemon and a splash of white wine to a pan over medium heat.  Let it reduce a little, then turn the head down to medium low and start whisking in butter.

CIMG1047

I ended up using about three tablespoons of butter for this sauce, but the amount is flexible.  Just add it gradually, keep tasting, and make sure you don’t burn the sauce.

CIMG1049

Next, I flavored my sauce with salt, pepper, savory, and thyme.  If you have fresh dill, that would probably be delicious.  Next, I added a little bit of vegetable broth until I was happy with the strength of my sauce.

CIMG1050 

When the sauce was done, I poured it over my fish, which was mostly cooked, and added a few spoonfuls of capers.  I then put the dish back into the oven until the fish was finished cooking.  I served this over spinach, which is what I had on hand, but I think that this would taste wonderful with green beans and angelhair pasta.

CIMG1057      

For dessert, I had some fresh pineapple.  For fun, I thought I would do a quick tutorial on how to cut up a whole pineapple.  It isn’t difficult, but I always used to be intimidated. 

CIMG1031 

First, off with the top.

CIMG1032

Next, slice gently down the sides to get rid of the tough outer layer.

CIMG1033 

Next, start cutting the fruit away from the fibrous core.

CIMG1037 

Then chop, serve and eat.

CIMG1039

Responses

  1. mmm…the fish looks amazing!!! i’ve been definitely craving fish lately

  2. That fish looks great!
    I’ve never bought a pineapple like that because I was scared to have to cut it, but it looks easy, thanks for the how-to!

  3. Sounds delicious!

  4. For wingin’ it, that sauce sounds amazing! Even for not winging it actually!


Leave a Reply

Categories

