Posted by: lemonator | March 18, 2009

Irish Soda Bread

CIMG1096

Lemonator here.

So, as you all know, I love to bake, and my favorite baking book is Whole Grain Baking by King Arthur Flour.  The Irish Soda bread we had last night for St. Patrick’s day is a modified form of what was found in the book.  Here we go!

Ingredients

  • 6 T butter
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 C milk + 1/2 C cream + 1/2 C water (recipe calls for 1.5 C buttermilk)
  • 1 C white flour

Optional Ingredients

  • 2 t caraway seeds
  • 1 C currants/rasins
  • 1 T milk for glaze
  • 1 T coarse sugar, for topping
  • cinnamon sugar for topping (I used this!)

The nice thing about soda breads are that they dont take hours and hours to make, as the baking soda takes over for the yeast.

To begin, beat together the butter and sugar until smooth… you might want to heat up the butter a little bit… I had trouble doing it properly with cold butter, but eventually managed it.  Add the eggs, and beat at high speed until the mixture thickens (~2 minutes for me)

Add baking powder, soda and salt, mix, then add one cup of the whole wheat flour and half the liquids.  Mix together, then add the rest of the flours and the buttermilk, and mix till smooth.  Here’s where you’d add the currants/rasins if you wanted them.

Put the dough into a greased 8-inch round pan, add the toppings you want, and bake at 325 for ~1 hour and 15 minutes.  It comes out tasty!

CIMG1101

As Hil said last night:  Who would ever want cake when you can make something like this?

Responses

  1. Okay, that looks delicious! Is it a sweet bread? What’s your favorite way to eat it? Think I might have to give this a try sometime.

  2. Yum!

  3. Oh my gosh, super yummy!

  4. Classic!!

  5. This looks so delicious! Irish Soda Bread is my favorite!

  6. Sagan- Its… sconeish in taste but with an absolutely amazing texture… a little like banana bread in that way… it seriously was one of the better things I’ve ever made… although coffee cake remains my favorite 🙂

  7. YUM, an Irish favorite. I cannot wait to try this out, thanks Lemonator!

  8. I’ve been eying that cookbook… I think you may have just convinced me to buy it! This bread looks great… especially w/ the little pat of butter;).

  9. Dani- I cant speak highly enough about that cookbook… everything I’ve made out of it has been amazing.

  10. i am due to make a loaf of Irish soda bread … last Tuesday came and passed too quickly. this recipe sounds terrific. Now, did you substitute out the buttermilk on purpose? Or do you think I should buy buttermilk? In any case, this loaf looks scrumptious!

  11. alexandra- I didnt have buttermilk, and, it turns out, I only had half a cup of milk, so therefore the amusing substitutions. I made it again yesterday for a party and used straight milk… and I actually liked the cream version better… the milk-alone version dried out a little too much.

  12. Out of curiosity, what changes did you make to the origional recipe? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

