Posted by: Hil | April 2, 2009

The Big Picture

CIMG1197 

I’ve felt a little bit all over the place with my eating lately.  It’s not that I’ve been eating particularly badly, but I’ve been eating my meals at different times and in very different quantities based on things like my work schedule and whether I plan to go to an evening yoga class.  The word “disorganized” comes to mind.  I’ve been getting by, but I feel as though I’m not very good at estimating which meals will provide me with the right amount of staying power.  It’s been awhile since I logged a full day of food on this blog, but I thought that a day (or two or three) of photographing all of my meals might be a good way to get me started thinking about how to organize my meals.  I started today as I start most days, with half a toasted Ezekiel English muffin spread with peanut butter, and some fruit and yogurt.  Today, the fruit and yogurt were consumed in the form of a simple mango smoothie:  frozen mango, Greek yogurt, nonfat milk and a little agave nectar.  This was an utterly satisfying breakfast.  When I’m on the run, I’m always tempted to forego the yogurt, but breakfast is so much more satisfying with it.  The smoothie is a good alternative for days when I don’t have the time or inclination to sit down with an actual bowl of yogurt.

Thursday is farmer’s market day at lunch, and I usually buy my lunch there.  Typically, I buy myself one of the amazing salads that the vendors sell (Kale with cranberries, pine nuts, pepitas and orange vinaigrette is my very favorite), but it was cold and windy today, and I really wanted something hot.  I bought a combo plate from the local gourmet tamale stand, which was one tamale with a sides of black beans and rice.  I gobbled up the black beans before I remembered to take a picture.  Honestly, the tamale itself was the least flavorful and interesting part of the plate.  The beans and rice were both delicious.  I can take or leave rice as a general rule, but this stuff was very good.  The tamale itself was very bland and was mostly masa with only a tiny bit of meat in the middle.  It tasted fine with every bite dunked in the tasty salsa, but I think I would have preferred a big dish of the black beans and rice.

CIMG1199 

It became rapidly apparent to me that this lunch, tasty though it was, was not going to hold me.  It was essentially all starch without any fat or protein.  I decided to remedy the issue with a single serving flan for dessert.  Laugh if you want, but flan is basically just milk, eggs and sugar, so it has a fair amount of protein.  Besides, this particular flan is the best I’ve ever tasted.  The texture is really rich and creamy and it isn’t too sweet.  This stuff makes me happy.  It really hit the spot.  That funny not-quite-satisfied feeling that I get after a really starch heavy meal dissipated and I stayed happily satisfied until dinner.

CIMG1205

By dinner time, I definitely wanted some vegetables, so I opted for spinach soup (prepared by the Lemonator) with a toasted Ezekiel English muffin with some farmers market feta melted on top.  I started with half of the English muffin, but found that that was not nearly enough food, so I had the second half prepared the same way.  This held me through my long choir rehearsal. 

CIMG1211

One thing I am beginning to discover, much to my surprise, is that I can actually get through a week day with three meals and no snacks.  I have always, always needed a mid afternoon snack to get through my day, but I’m beginning to discover that that rule about myself isn’t set in stone.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong preferring to eat a few more times a day, but it opens up options to know that I can actually plan a big lunch for myself and expect that lunch to hold me until the end of the day.  I’m still trying to sort it all out. 

Happy Friday, everyone!

Responses

  1. Hang in there!!

  2. i love your sensible & logical approach to dealing with hunger. the flan looks lovely, and i agree about yogurt – my hunger levels are drastically different depending on whether i have protein-rich yogurt in the morning or not.

  3. I very rarely eat snacks 🙂 Don’t know why i just don’t seem to need them!

  4. That smoothie with mango and yogurt sounds delicious!
    Happy Friday!

  5. I completely agree. Eating a few more times in the day just because you are hungry is good.

    Anyways, love your eats, I can’t wait to head to the Farmers Market!

  6. Disorganized is a good way to describe my eating lately too. Maybe I will take to the camera for a few days like you!

  7. That’s funny, I’ll often decide to eat just half of an english muffin too and then I end up going back for the other half anyways.

    Disorganized eating… yep, I know that one! It can be frustrating.

  8. I’ve felt that way lately too, it’s a little disconcerting isn’t it! I hope you feel back on track soon. I like your farmer’s market lunch. Very cool tradition.

  9. I hope you learn to listen to your body and your hunger cues! for me, I guess I’m just too used to my snacks…I get sad and hungry if I miss them!
    cool spinach soup! I love that it’s this rich, deep green!

  10. I have never had flan but it looks/sounds good!

    The farmers market lunch looks yummy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

