Posted by: Hil | April 6, 2009

Wonderful Weekend

CIMG1217

I apologize for my delay in blogging–my weekend was very busy!  On Friday, I ran out of both yogurt and fresh fruit, so I just had peanut butter toast for breakfast, which was not nearly as satisfying.  For lunch, I packed myself a simple bean salad with cannelini beans, spinach, sun dried tomatoes, feta, sherry vinegar, and a drizzle of the tomatoed oil the sundried tomatoes were packed in.  This was a very satisfying lunch.  I was cooped inside all day researching an order, but I did manage to take a minute for my lunch.  I also had two baby cupcakes in honor of a co-worker’s birthday, which were delicious.

Dinner was vaguely Latin-inspired:  a whole wheat quesadilla, bell pepper sticks and black beans.  I usually get impatient with people who claim to think that low fat versions of things taste better, but I’ve actually come to prefer low fat cheese in my quesadillas and in things like chicken parmesan.  I think full fat cheese has great flavor, but when I want a gooey, mild cheese, I prefer the texture of the reduced fat stuff.

CIMG1227

I also had a bowl of spinach soup

CIMG1228

And some mango. 

CIMG1218  

I woke up on Saturday morning in the mood for some oats, which I spiced with cardamom and cinnamon and finished with a tiny drizzle of half and half.  I have decided that I have no use for nonfat milk on oatmeal…it just waters everything down.  I used less than a tablespoon of the half and half, but it really added a nice richness to the bowl.

CIMG1233

I also had a spoonful of peanut butter for added staying power.

CIMG1231   

For lunch, we took the roommate out to Tender Greens, where I acquired my favorite Tuna Nicoise salad (forgot the camera!)  For dinner, the husband made a classic German dish:  rouladen.  He will be posting soon to explain its preparation.

CIMG1251

After dinner, we stayed up watching silly movies and baking chocolate peanut butter bars.  The roommate is an amazing baker and if she ends up in the area next year, I predict that more desserts will be showing up on this blog!

CIMG1242 

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

Responses

  1. No worries!! Glad you’ve been busy, having fun, and eating deliciously!! 🙂

  2. Yum mango I definitely need to buy some more!

  3. That bean salad looks awesome! I love beans!

  4. Oh wow, super delicious! And now you got me wanting cupcakes. LOL

  5. i agree that a little of somethng richer makes so much more difference than using something too pale in taste. but then i also agree about the reduced fat dairy – sometimes i prefer it too, for taste and texture. and i really want your mango 🙂

  6. Now I want quesadilla. And a spoonful of peanut butter. And especially those bars!!

  7. Wow those bars look good!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

