Posted by: Hil | April 10, 2009

Guest Post: Potato Pizza

Hey everyone! Micks (formerly known as JerzeeGirl) here. A few days ago I talked with Hil about doing another guest post. I was very excited because I was going to bring food I MADE to a family event for the first time. I just moved back near my family in December, so this was the first time I’ve had access to both a kitchen and my family. I was very excited to bring something to my family’s Passover celebration last night! The only problem was…Passover. Passover food is not exactly known to be the most delicious of all of the holidays: no bread, grains, corn, legumes, etc. But, I knew a fun recipe that I thought would excite some of my family: Potato Pizza.

I got the idea for potato pizza a few years ago when I was working at a camp. We had weekend camp sessions in the spring that happened to fall over Passover. I asked the kitchen staff if they could accommodate my dietary restrictions and they said it wouldn’t be a problem. The (not usually) brilliant cooks made me potato pizza, and I have been looking for an excuse to make them again ever since.

ingredients

So, to make the potato pizzas I started out with 5 potatoes, 2 bags of mozzerella (1 was already opened), pizza sauce, and freshly grated parm. Since I had pre-tested this recipe earlier in the week, my sauce was all ready to go, but to make it I used a can of crushed tomatoes, basil, oregano, garlic powder, and a few flakes of red pepper. But…I didn’t use all that was in this picture so…

Ingredients (appetizers for 11 or dinner for 3):

3 potatoes

¾ cup pizza sauce

1.5 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

grated parmesan cheese to taste

Directions:

Peel the potatoes and slice them about ¼” thick. I’m not sure exactly about the thickness, but I got 11-12 circular slices per potato.

Lay potatoes out on non-stick aluminum foil and placed them in the oven at 375 for 15 minutes per side. The potatoes should be very close to fully cooked by the end of this time, and a little crispy.

To make the pizzas, simply spread a little sauce, on each, sprinkled a bit of parm, then top with the mozzarella.

Bake again for about 15 minutes or until the cheese is done to your liking

potatoes in oven    

When I made this as a dinner for 1, I used one potato, and when it was done cooking, I immediately dressed it with sauce and cheese and placed it back in the oven for an additional 15 minutes until the cheese looked done. Because this time I would be bringing the pizzas to my Aunts, I let them cool for about an hour before topping them.

I covered them up with plastic wrap and off we (the pizzas and I) went!

made pizzas

At my Aunt’s, we put the pizzas in the oven at 350 and set the timer for 15 minutes. It took way longer than 15 min for the pizzas to look done (since the potato is cooked, all that matters is that the cheese looks good). I think this is partially due to the 5 other dishes in the oven at the same time, but I would definitely bump up the heat next time!

pizza on platemultple plates

Instead of being served as a side dish as I had originally thought, my Aunt decided to serve the pizzas as a third appetizer choice (the other options being gefilte fish or chop liver – both traditional but not well-liked choices in my family). I think overall 3 people tried the liver, 2 had gefilte fish, and 10 tried my pizza. Maybe they were just being nice, but everyone seemed to enjoy the pizzas! Beats chopped liver, right???

Responses

  1. Great guest post and fun pizza idea!!

  2. Thanks! It was a big hit, and a dinner I’ll definitely make again before the week is out!

  3. If anyone is interested, I started my own blog this week, that I hope will be a combination food/needlepoint blog. Hope to see you there 🙂 (and I hope the link works now…)

  4. This looks much better than the only potato pizza I’ve ever seen – which is at California Pizza Kitchen.

    Have a nice Easter!

  5. Oh wow, that is so cool! I totally love it!

  6. I want! Yum!

  7. I love this idea! It’s so clever. Sounds really yummy too.

  8. What a great looking appetizer! Very creative idea!

  9. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM!!! YUM!!!.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  10. LOVE THIS IDEA!

  11. Thanks for the comments everyone!!! Today, I used the leftover potato, cheese, and sauce today to make a potato lasagna. I think it might be even better than the pizza (though not as easy to serve for company)

  12. Awesome idea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

