Posted by: Hil | April 13, 2009

Happy Easter

CIMG1286

I hope everyone had a good Easter.  This last week has been crazy for me.  With Holy Week going on, I’ve been doing nothing but singing, working and sleeping for about a week straight.  I’ve also been fighting off a virus of some kind for several days.  I thought I was doing a pretty good job of fending it off, but today it just hit me like a ton of bricks.  I ended up getting sent home from work early with instructions to sleep and get better, so I’ve been in bed recuperating for most of the day.  I thought I would do a quick recap of some of my eats from the last few days.  First, a couple of weekday meal discoveries:  Whole Foods had a sale on turkey legs for 99 cents a pound, so I bought a few and roasted them for dinner last week.  I almost never buy meat at Whole Foods because it is so expensive, but every time I have, it has been really delicious.  The turkey legs were delicious, and because they were so huge, I had lots of leftover meat to shred for wraps.  I never think to buy turkey, but after this, I think I will keep an eye out.

I love making myself egg sandwiches for any meal of the day, but on Saturday, I made one of the best ones ever:  toasted whole grain English muffin, whole grain mustard, wilted spinach, sundried tomatoes, and a fried egg.  I’ve never put mustard on a breakfast sandwich before, but I really liked it.  The mustard paired especially nicely with the sundried tomato.

CIMG1308

For Easter brunch, the Lemonator treated ourselves and went to Akasha, which is a local bakery and restaurant with an emphasis on local, organic, healthy foods.  To start, I ordered a blood orange mimosa.  I’m normally not crazy about blood orange, but this was very good.  There was just enough blood orange to give flavor but not so much that it overwhelmed the flavor of the champagne.  The Lemonator, true to form, ordered a lemonade (made with fresh squeezed lemon and agave nectar), which was excellent.

untitled

For my main dish, I ordered potato pancakes topped with poached eggs, smoked salmon, and chives.  One thing that I like about Akasha is that they serve normal portions of food and not gigantic restaurant portions.    I don’t think I have ever eaten more perfectly poached eggs in my life.  The salmon was also excellent.  The potato pancakes were good, but a little bit crispier and heavier than I prefer.

untitled2

For Easter dinner, the Lemonator and I opted for simple spring food:  new potatoes, roasted asparagus, and leg of lamb, with presecco to go with.

CIMG1319 

I am going to go try to get some more rest now.  Happy Monday, everyone.

Responses

  1. Your egg looks so perfect! Tonight I had a fried egg over leftover Easter rosemary-garlic mashed potatoes!

  2. what a beautiful brunch! i a such an insanely big fan of smoked salmon so your dish really appeals to me ๐Ÿ™‚ i guessed you would be doing lots of singing around this time! have a great rest.

  3. Fabulous brunch fare!!

    Happy belated Easter!!

  4. What a fabulous brunch, I love when places make the servings a normal size I would eat at home.
    And your Easter dinner looks great!

  5. Oh my gosh, totally delicious! I have never tried poached eggs before, I’m going to ask my mom to make me some when I am back home for the summer. LOL

  6. lovely meals! And I need sun-dried tomatoes in my life now!

  7. Delish eats!! Glad you enjoyed your Easter!

  8. Mmm eggs. Your sandwich sounds great!

  9. I’m glad you had a happy easter. I hope you start feeling better soon!

  10. I love egg sandwiches too! Yours looks especially great ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. hey just wanted to say i enjoy your blog! you have great posts and food ideas ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

