Posted by: Hil | May 1, 2009

Brain Food

CIMG1383 

First off, I’m sorry I’ve been gone for so long!  I got very sick a couple weeks back, then had to put in extra time at work to make up for the time I was out sick.  I was pretty overwhelmed and blogging fell low on my priority list.  I finished my externship earlier this week and am now in the throes of finishing my term paper.  I am busy, but I’m very much enjoying the freedom of having access to a kitchen and a flexible schedule.  When I have very unstructured time and a lot to do, I try to make a special effort to carve out time for good meals, which helps break up my day and keep me sane.  Smoked salmon is always my breakfast treat to myself before finals…I think it is perfect brain food.  It’s salty and fatty and rich, but still healthy, and the combination with some whole grain bread keeps me full for hours.  Even though I don’t have any tests this semester, the Lemonator decided to surprise me with a package of smoked salmon, which I have been deeply enjoying

Lunch on Wednesday was a strawberry and spinach salad with sweet balsamic vinaigrette…

CIMG1360 

And a little bit of my precious salmon with farmer’s market sheep cheese on rye crackers.  This was a good working lunch:  light, flavorful and seasonal, but with enough staying power to keep me full through the afternoon. Strawberry spinach salad is one of my absolute favorite things and I am so happy that strawberries are in season again!

CIMG1365

Yesterday, I decided to take myself out to lunch at the Curious Palate, a relatively new deli and restaurant which focuses on artisan, farm-to-fork comfort foods.  I visited here once before, right after it opened, and I was disappointed, but the concept and service were great, so I’ve been wanting to come back and give it a second try now that they’ve had a couple of months to get their act together.

The space is beautiful and sunny, and they just opened up a small patio, where I opted to eat my lunch.  The service was once again great…friendly and informative.  I started my lunch with a grapefruit Fizzy Lizzy.  It’s packaged to look like an Italian soda, but it’s really just sparkling fruit juice.  I LOVED it.  It was fizzy and refreshing and not too sweet.  I am going to have to exercise serious restraint during the summer time, because I can totally see myself getting addicted to these.

CIMG1367

I ordered a small potato leek soup.  The portion was somewhere in between the “cup” and “bowl” portions that I’m used to at restaurants.  The soup itself was to die for.  The flavors were well balanced, the texture was perfectly smooth, and it was creamy without being too heavy.  I would definitely order this again.

CIMG1372 

I also ordered a small “curious salad”: which contained lettuce, golden beets, roasted peppers, olives, artichoke hearts, Christmas lima beans and feta cheese in balsamic vinaigrette.  It was just okay.  My first impression was that someone designed this salad based on how it would look rather than how it would taste.  The individual components were good, but there was nothing particularly harmonious or special about them.  The lettuce could have been a lot fresher, especially given the farm-to-fork emphasis of the restaurant, and the lima beans were very bland.  The overall eating experience was enjoyable and the portion was generous.  I wouldn’t mind eating this again if I really wanted a salad, but it definitely wasn’t craveable. 

CIMG1376

For dessert, I had a square of 99% dark chocolate, which was very good.  Overall, I enjoyed my lunch.  I feel that the prices are pretty steep for what they are delivering, but they’ve improved a lot since the last time I was here, and I have high hopes that they will continue to do so.  In short, I can’t imagine it being worth it to order takeout here (which they do offer), but the great service, fun menu and ambiance make it a very enjoyable place to enjoy a sit down meal. 

CIMG1377 

For dinner, we’ve been taking advantage of the last of the cool weather to enjoy some simple roast chicken and spring vegetables.

CIMG1382

I have some fun guest posts coming up this week, as well as more restaurant reviews and recipes, so stay tuned!

Responses

  1. Glad you are feeling better!!!

  2. Everything looks great – I have never seen that fizzy lizzy drink, but it looks neat!


Leave a Reply

Categories

