Posted by: Hil | May 11, 2009

6 Minute Toaster Oven White Fish with Miso Glaze

CIMG1391 

I have discovered a wonderful new lunch/dinner idea that I had to share with all of you.  I remember reading awhile back that Rocco DiSpirito’s favorite dish to make at home was a piece of fish or chicken rubbed with homemade miso glaze and cooked in the toaster oven until the miso was slightly burned and delicious. 

I finally got around to trying it this idea in a fit of desperation as I tried to come up with something to do with the dover sole fillets sitting in my freezer.  (I bought a load of them at Costco before realizing that the fish was incredibly bland and fell apart whenever I tried to grill them.)   As I recall, Rocco suggests making a glaze with  combination of miso and orange marmalade.  As I had no marmalade on hand, I improvised, mixing up miso paste, agave nectar, ground ginger and a dab of chili paste, then rubbed the mixture on the fish.  I cranked up my toaster oven as high as it would go, then put the fish in (on a piece of foil for easy cleanup).  It took less than six minutes for the slices above, because they were so thin.  I served them over a bed of wilted spinach, and they were to die for.  Rocco was right…slightly burned miso really is yummy!  This was an incredibly easy, no fuss lunch for one.  Highly recommended.

Responses

  1. i LOVE miso used for glaze – i am so glad you posted this! miso is definitely under-rated and under-used.


Leave a Reply

Categories

