Posted by: Hil | May 13, 2009

What to Do With Greens?

CIMG1416

Anyone who reads this blog with any regularity is probably aware that I am spinach freak.  Spinach is my favorite vegetable, and I have a giant clamshell of baby spinach in my fridge at all times.  I love the taste, of course, but I also love how easy and versatile it is.  I like other greens very much, but I find the preparation intimidating.  Take bok choy:  I love to eat bok choy, but I’ve never quite figured out how to prepare it.  The baby stuff I can handle, but the big stuff is another story.  The first couple of times I tried to prepare it, I got tripped up by the fact that the stems have a very different cook time than the leaves.  This time, I trimmed the leaves from the stems and let stems cook in a covered pan for a few minutes before adding the leaves.  The bok choy turned out acceptably, but I have a nagging feeling that there’s some key to this process that I haven’t yet discovered.  Readers?  Any tips on how to prepare bok choy?  To go with the bok choy, I made an Asian inspired meal of miso-glazed chicken tenders and whole wheat noodle with sesame oil and a splash of soy sauce. 

In other news, I started the first of my two summer internships on Monday.  Thus far, it seems very interesting and like a lot of fun.  The food situation, however, is definitely going to be a challenge.  The office is in the middle of an industrial area and there is almost nowhere to grab a bite to eat if I don’t pack my own food.  To make matters worse, the office has an entire ROOM filled with junk food, sugary drinks, ice cream and snacks, which it sells for very cheap as part of a charity fundraiser.  Oh dear.  I am going to head to Trader Joe at some point in the next couple of days and acquire a serious stash of healthy snacks.  I am not typically a bar person, but I may need to stock up on a few just in case.

I hope everyone’s week is going well.  The Lemonator has promised me to post soon about his favorite recipe for homemade whole wheat pizza dough, so stay tuned.

Responses

  1. When it comes to cooking greens I’m pretty intimidated as well, so I usually look to the internet as a case by case basis to figure out how I’m going to prepare them.

    In your bok choy challenge I stumbled across this fantastic and simple recipe…
    http://www.applepiepatispate.com/vegetable/stir-fried-shanghai-bok-choy/

    Enjoy 🙂 congrats on the internships!

  2. we LOVE bok choy in our family, and my mum makes this reeeally easy recipe in the microwave that tastes great, and makes them so flavourful – i will ask her for it later!

  3. I am not help on the bok choy! I love spinach for the same reasons as you. Plus, I want to be Popeye!

    Sorry about the room of junk food. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

