Posted by: lemonator | May 14, 2009

Pizza!

CIMG1348

Lemonator here.

In my youth, I worked at a take and bake pizza store (Papa Murphy’s), and after two years of working there and bringing home all sorts of pizzas (from the artery clogging meat-stuffed with meat and cheese and bacon pizza to one of my personal favorites:  Canadian Bacon and Green Peppers [try it!]) I… well… I ended up not exactly wanting another pizza for a long time.

The crust for this pizza, and the pizzas that come out, are quite different.  The whole-wheat crust makes the entire thing seem more virtuous and, I swear, mitigates the grease or something, because these pizzas are tasty!  Here is the crust-ipie (makes 2 crusts)

  • 3 and 3/4 Cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 T plus 1.5 t yeast (I used 2T… doesnt *really* matter to be exact)
  • 1.5 Cup cool water
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2 t salt
  • Seasonings:  I used italian seasoning + cayenne + garlic powder

To make:

  • Combine 2 cups of flour with the yeast (depending on your type of yeast, you might have to ‘wake up’ the yeast in advance by setting aside a bit of the water, heating it up to lukewarm and dissolving the yeast in it for ~10 minutes prior to starting.   Add the water and honey, stir well, cover and let rest for one hour (go yeast go!)
  • Add olive oil, salt, Seasoning and flour.  Mix, then knead for ~5 minutes.  You’ll want the dough to feel rather soft.  Cover and let rise till doubled in volume (~1.5 hrs)
  • Divide in half and roll out into the shape you want (we like our pizzas rectangular)

Toppings

Now… one problem with working at a pizza place is that I really cant tell you how much toppings I put onto the pizzas, as I just kinda do it by feel after making all those pizzas every day.  If I had to guess, I’d say the pizza above had ~8 oz of cheese and maybe 10 stalks of thin asparagus on it, along with a moderate amount of pizza sauce (~1/2 a container for the entire pizza).

 

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. yum that pizza looks mouth watering and fabulous! thanks for the crust recipe đŸ™‚ erm, crust-ipie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

