Posted by: Hil | May 14, 2009

Soup’s On

 CIMG1422

I am always envious when other bloggers like Sharon post pictures of gorgeous mixed fruit breakfasts.  However delicious they look, I know that fruit alone…no matter how much I eat…isn’t going to hold me through a morning at work.  One of the reasons I am so repetitive with my breakfasts is that my peanut butter toast, fruit, yogurt and coffee combo is one of the only things that keeps me reliably full through a morning at work.  Today, I wasn’t in the mood for peanut butter (yes, it happens) and I had a low-key non-work morning ahead of me, so I decided to to make myself a fruit plate for breakfast with orange, banana, strawberry, and a little bit of nonfat Greek yogurt for dipping.  It was delicious.  Within two hours, I was starving.  I found myself diving into a midmorning snack of the Lemonator’s homemade peanut butter chocolate chip cookies with milk.  (They were delicious by the way).  It’s back to hearty breakfasts for me, although I may try the fruit plate as a snack at some point if I’m home to prepare it. 

CIMG1427 

Lunch was nutritious but filling:  Asian-inspired soup, some chunks of orange, and rye crackers with peanut butter.

CIMG1429

My soup started as a way to use leftovers:  noodles, bok choy, and chicken.  To round out the soup, I added diced bell pepper, tofu, and peas.  The broth itself was flavored with soy, garlic and ginger.  I liked this soup a lot.  The bok choy worked very well in the soup…it didn’t wilt away to nothing the way spinach does.  I always forget how well tough greens work in soup!

CIMG1433   

Dinner was a very tasty batch of black bean chili.  To start, I sauteed onion, garlic and bell pepper strips (from frozen).  I’d never tried using frozen peppers before, but I would do it again an instant…I couldn’t taste the difference, it cut down on prep time, and it was cheaper than buying fresh.

CIMG1440 

Next, I added the beans and a secret ingredient…sun dried tomatoes.  The sun dried tomatoes added a really sweet, potent tomato flavor that I really enjoyed.  I also added a can of normal diced tomatoes along with my water and broth.  For flavor, I added cumin, oregano, chili powder, asian chili paste, cocoa powder, cinnamon, and salt and pepper.

CIMG1445

With a dollop of nonfat yogurt, this was a great pre-choir dinner.  I was very happy with the flavor combinations of this chili…they were nice and rich.  I have lots of leftovers now, which makes me happy.

CIMG1447 

Happy Friday, everyone!

Responses

  1. I feel the same way about fruit-base breakfast… I need a little more sustenance in the morning!

    Both of your soups look and sound incredible!

  2. I can’t have just fruit either – I used to have fruit and yogurt but I would get hungry so quickly. I’ve been having green oat bran for the last few weeks and it can hold me for 4-5 hours at least.

    I need to try cooking with sun dried tomatoes. I never do. I have them, but I never think to use them.

  3. if i know that i’ll be able to eat 2 hours later (have access to the fridge 2 hours later)…..then i love snack plates and fruit plates because they mean that I can eat again not fairly long after! so then it’s like i’ll have 2 meals spread out instead of one…and usually the 2nd is of more protein and fat and substance!!!

    black bean chilli looks fab! mmmmmmmm

  4. That’s why I always have about three breakfasts. A little bit of fruit, then an hour later maybe a bit of yogurt, an hour later some toast… hehe. Tasty indeed. Cookie looks delicious.

  5. Wow that looks delish!


Leave a Reply

Categories

