Posted by: Hil | May 18, 2009

Costco to the Rescue

CIMG1512

When the Lemonator and I first moved to LA, we almost didn’t get a Costco membership because we thought we wouldn’t be able to get enough use out of it with a two person household.  Let’s just say that hasn’t been a problem.  I’ve noticed two major trends when we visit Costco:  (1) we spend more on groceries (Cheap fish!  Cheap wine!) and (2) we eat a LOT more produce.  There is nothing like a fridge full of produce purchased on impulse to make me eat more vegetables!  Costco acquisitions for the week included broccoli, bell peppers, pears, apples, and blackberries.  The blackberries made an appearance at breakfast with my Greek yogurt and peanut butter toast.

I packed a healthy, snacky lunch for work today that included leftover black bean chili, apple slices with peanut butter, bell pepper sticks, rye crackers, and a Quaker Simple Harvest bar.  My daily schedule at this internship varies tremendously and I often have to work through my lunch hour, so I really liked having a lunch that I could break down into component parts if I needed to.  I have a feeling that my Monday through Wednesday lunches are going to end up being more snacky and my Thursday-Friday lunches are going to end up being more substantial and meal-like, but I will have to see.

CIMG1515

For dinner, the Lemonator marinated and barbecued some flank steak (from Costco) which we served with steamed broccoli and a delicious Malbec (also from Costco).   If the barbecue is out, summer is officially on the way!  Now I just need to think of appropriate uses for all of the leftover flank steak.

CIMG1519 

Goodnight, everyone!

Responses

  1. Hil, you should probably see how much steak I didnt end up eating first… ‘all that’ might be the wrong modifier to flank steak 😀

  2. ohhh…yes, costco is so dangerous. i do eat a lot more produce when i shop there…thank goodness they are so far away from me now.

  3. Hahaha, I love costco! Everything is so awesome there. Bulk fresh produce, yum!

  4. Wow, Costco is one of the gifts from god! I miss that about the west coast.
    Steak salad with blue cheese and caramelized onions?!
    Or, as my dad likes it…steak and cottage cheese with A1 sauce.


Leave a Reply

Categories

