Posted by: Hil | May 19, 2009

Broccoli Cheddar Quiche and Other Tasty Things

CIMG1533

It’s ironic…I sometimes get tired of posting all of my meals because I find them boring, but whenever I do decide to post my meals for the day, my food somehow seems to get more interesting without me even thinking about it.

Breakfast this morning was a small twist on my usual.  To me, there is something magical about the taste of peanut butter with fresh fruit.  I’ve never cared for peanut butter and jelly, which is too sticky and mushy for me, but peanut butter with fresh berries or fruit slices adds just the right amount of texture.  I had my usual Greek yogurt on the side.

CIMG1525 

Lunch was another snacky selection today:  some pistachios with a few chocolate chips, the last of my black bean chili, a piece of cheddar cheese, some rye crackers, and a Granny Smith apple.  I ate all of it at once today except for the pistachios and one of the crackers, but I still liked having the flexibility to eat as much as I was hungry for.

CIMG1524

For dinner, the Lemonator and I were both really craving quiche for some reason, so we made one together.  The Lemonator made a nice buttery whole wheat crust.  Here is his recipe:

Ingredients: 1 cup whole wheat flour (pastry flour is best, but we used AP), 1 tsp sugar, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt, pinch of paprika, 1 oz grated parmesan cheese, 4 tbsp cold unsalted butter, some water

Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, paprika and parmesan. Cut butter into small cutes and work it through dry ingredients using your fingers, a pastry cutter or a fork. The dough should hold together when you grab a handful. If it doesn’t, add a bit more liquid.

Roll out the dough on a floured work surface, then transfer to a 9-inch pie pan. Trim and crimp the edges. Place the crust in the refrigerator while you’re making your filling.

I made the filling.  The primary filling for the quiche was some quickly steamed broccoli.  For the custard, I whisked together four eggs, 3/4 cup of nonfat milk and 1/4 cup of cream.  I seasoned the custard with salt, pepper and a pinch of cayenne.  And, of course, a broccoli quiche must also have some good sharp cheddar–a little in the custard and a little more on top.  I was very happy with how the quiche came out:  the filling was light and flavorful and contrasted well with the rich crust.  Below is a picture of the Lemonator’s slice.  Mine did not come out quite so neatly, but was still very tasty and satisfying.

CIMG1543

I had my quiche with a juicy Asian pear.

CIMG1474

Tomorrow’s post may come a bit late.  The Lemonator and I have a singing gig and we are going to be racing to get any food in our systems between work and our gig.  Have a good night, everyone!

Responses

  1. Asian pears are THE BEST.

  2. That first pic is absolutely gorgeous. Was it a filling breakfast for you? I love having PB toast, but I’m always hungry after an hour or so… my stomach is a grump!

  3. I actually have never had a quiche before. It looks so good@

  4. Singing gig, huh? What do you guys do?

  5. Oh quiche…

  6. Rose–Peanut butter toast holds me very well as long as I use a really hearty bread and have some yogurt on the side for protein…the yogurt makes all the difference in terms of staying power for me.

    Sharon–Quiche is delicious! It’s like a frittata in tasty pie crust.

    lindsmm–nothing too exciting…we’re church musicians and we occasionally get paid to cantor for special services. Tonight we’re doing music for a confirmation service.

  7. Blackberries? Those are my favorite. I can’t get enough.

    Do you have any insight into the nutritional benefits of Blackberries? I feel they almost taste too good to be really healthy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

