Posted by: Hil | June 5, 2009

Happy Birthday to Me

CIMG1832 

Today was my birthday, and I had an absolutely wonderful day.  My day began with breakfast in bed, courtesy of the Lemonator.  he made me whole wheat pancakes with strawberries and a glass of organic milk.  He even took pictures for me so I wouldn’t be tempted to get out of bed before digging in!

I also got a couple of great food related birthday presents.  My favorite came from Blueberry Sis:  a double salt and pepper grinder from Crate and Barrel.

CIMG1763

Is that not cool?  Besides its efficiency and general cool factor, it works really well!  I’m very picky about my pepper grinders, but this is one of the best I’ve ever used.  It grinds a lot at one time (a good thing for me) and has a relatively coarse, but even grind to it.  Also, major points to Blueberry Sis for remembering my birthday even though it was just a couple of days after her wedding!

CIMG1762

The in-laws sent me a birthday package that included a very cute reusable grocery bag that folds into its own pouch and a stash of German chocolate.  It also included a hand-stitched pillow filled with lavender, which is one of my very favorite smells.

 

CIMG1831  

My wonderful boss insisted on sending me home from work a couple hours early when she found out it was my birthday. I thought that was very sweet, and it meant that the Lemonator and I had plenty of time to unwind and put together my birthday dinner.  My birthday dinner was local, grass-fed filet mignon from the farmers market, rainbow chard, and yukon gold potatoes.  The meal was very simple, but the ingredients were all of great quality (and all local, I might add).  The filet was the star of the meal.  I don’t think I’ve ever had completely grass raised beef before, but I really liked it.  The meat had a very distinctive flavor profile that was unlike other steaks I’ve tried.  We were very impressed with both the meat and the the guy at the farmer’s market who sold it to us.  He seemed very knowledgeable and honest, and we’ll probably try some of his less expensive cuts sometime soon. 

CIMG1844

The one non-local component of the meal was the wine:  prosecco from Italy.  I love prosecco and cava because you can get good quality ones for so much cheaper than champagne.

CIMG1842 

I had thought of asking the Lemonator to bake me a birthday cake, but after my steak dinner, all I really wanted was a bowl of strawberries with freshly whipped cream.  That was the perfect end to my meal.

CIMG1846 

After dinner, we watched Singing in the Rain, an old favorite of mine that the Lemonator had never seen.  This was a quiet birthday, but it was wonderful nonetheless.  I’m going to bed feeling deeply content, and I really can’t ask for anything more.

Responses

  1. Cool salt and pepper grinder!

    Happy Birthday!

  2. I hope you had an amazing birthday!!!! Looks like you ate very well at least 🙂

  3. Happy,happy birthday! I hope you enjoyed every single second 🙂

  4. Happy birthday!!!! The salt and pepper shaker is so cool!

  5. WISHING YOU A BELATED HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! 🙂

  6. happy, happy, happy, happy, happy belated birthday to you! it sounds like you were able to enjoy every second as it should be. i hope this next year brings more of those wonderful things that you deserve :).

  7. Happy Birthday! I am glad you had a wonderful day. I must say, I think your dessert beats cake!

  8. Happy belated birthday, Hil! It looks like you had a wonderful day and were treated right 😉 I love the salt + pepper grinder!


Leave a Reply

Categories

