Posted by: Hil | June 16, 2009

Chicken Soup for a Sick Day

CIMG2013

The Lemonator has caught the stomach bug that I had earlier this week.  He appears to be over the worst of it now, so I attempted to make him the magical chicken vegetable soup that he always makes me when I am sick.  It was good, but not quite the same as when he makes it.  I think that I need to go for the gusto and caramelize the vegetables even more.  It also might be the fact that I was out of carrots.  Regardless, the Lemonator claims that it tasted good, and he was the audience I was concerned with.

Since it was Tuesday, I made a trip to the farmers market. I brought back celery, corn, blueberries, bell peppers, fresh thyme, and red snapper.  I was in need of more citrus, but the oranges didn’t look very good to me, so I decided to wait for my favorite stand on Sunday.

CIMG2004

Side note:  I always used to have trouble with my celery wilting before I could use all of it.  No longer!  The key is to whack off the tops (which are useful in soups), then put the remaining part in a Ziploc bag in the fridge.  Celery keeps so much longer in a Ziploc bag!

CIMG2008 

I made a trip to Whole Foods as well.  I got some grapes and cantaloupe to tide me over on the fruit front, along with Ezekiel bread and an assortment of dry goods.  I’m not sure where the canned beans are from (impossible to tell from the label), and the sea salt is imported, but everything else is Californian.  It was odd…I used to be so impressed with the selection of produce at Whole Foods, but now it seems pretty limited to me.  They generally have the same things except for a rotating selection of seasonal specials.  There were a handful of local offerings among the specials (clearly labeled, which I very much appreciated), but most of them were more expensive than farmers market prices.  I haven’t seen grapes or cantaloupe at the market lately, so those ended up being nice options.

CIMG2007   

In other news, I encourage you to read Heather’s review of Food, Inc.  I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I’ve read the books on which it is largely based.  I think its important to understand where our food comes in order to make the best choices about it.  I also really encourage you to read some of the critical responses that Heather thoughtfully linked to, which are an equally important piece of the picture.  I’ve got a lot to say about both, but I think that I need to take some time to sort my thoughts before sharing them in another post.

Responses

  1. I always have the same problem with celery, thanks for the tip!

  2. Another thing they talk about in Food, Inc. is how you think there is so much choice and variety at the supermarket, but really the same 3 or 4 companies own everything so it’s pretty misleading. In that respect, I guess WF is a little better. They tend to have smaller brands and companies and try to have some local stuff on display.

  3. So nice of you to make him soup 🙂 And thanks for the advice with celery!


Leave a Reply

Categories

