Posted by: Hil | June 25, 2009

I Love Pasta

CIMG2117 

The Lemonator got this pasta maker last year for his birthday.  It may seem like the type of appliance that would sit in your cupboards gathering dust, but we’ve gotten so much use out of this thing.  If you like to make things with your hands, pasta is very fun to make from scratch.  It takes a couple of tries to get the hang of it, particularly if you use whole wheat flour, but the process isn’t all that difficult.

CIMG2113

The resulting noodles really fresh and flavorful and really make a meal all by themselves.  I always fill a need to load normal pasta up with sauce and toppings in order to satisfy my belly and my taste buds, but when the Lemonator makes homemade noodles, I relieve believe that simplicity is best.  The egg in the dough makes the noodles very satisfying, and the noodles taste so good that you really don’t want to mess with them.  I usually just sauté some fresh vegetables and mix in the noodles after they have finished boiling.   Tonight, I cooked some of my mystery green (I think it might be tat soi) and bell peppers with vegetable broth, chili paste, garlic, tamari and sesame oil.

CIMG2122 

This pasta maker has come especially in handy since we started our eating local challenge.  We’ve been eating somewhat less meat during the course of our challenge, and homemade pasta has been a great addition to our dinner rotation.  It’s a nice meatless option and a great way to use up the copious amounts of farmers market veggies in our fridge.

I will leave you with a fun interview with Robert Kenner, the director of Food, Inc.

Responses

  1. Wow that looks fantastic. I don’t have a pasta maker and I’ve never made it before but it looks like a blast!

    PS The pictures of your buttered toast makes me hungry. One of the best things ever is simple hot buttered toast. ESPECIALLY when accompanied by fruit and eggs!

  2. Me want one of those!

    🙂

  3. My mom has a kitchen aid mixer addition that makes pasta, it’s so wonderful!

  4. i have wanted a pasta maker for ages!! fresh pasta is one of those amazingly simple, yet most satisfying and delicious foods. i love to see all your pasta creations.

  5. I just made pasta this winter… it’s so fun! Your dinner sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

