Posted by: Hil | June 30, 2009

Happy Accidents and Sustainable Seafood

 

 CIMG2173

Last weekend, the Lemonator and I decided to make whole wheat pizza for dinner.  After the dough was already mixed and rising, we realized that we had no pesto or tomato sauce or other suitable base for our pizza.  Not to be daunted, I decided to be ambitious and make my own marinara sauce.  I chopped up some mire poix, herbs, and garlic to flavor the base, then went to the pantry to retrieve my canned tomatoes…only to discover that I was out.  Canned tomatoes are the one ingredient that I always seem to have too much of, but in this case, our cupboard was bare.  On to Plan C:  I transformed the base of the would-have-been-marinara into bean soup, and the Lemonator rolled out part of the pizza dough and used it to make bread sticks.  We’ve been enjoying bread sticks every night with dinner for this week…they only take about ten minutes to brown up in the oven, so with the dough already prepared, they’re really a snap to make.  Tonight, we decided to get a little bit more fancy and make a flat bread with melted cheese and wild arugula. Yum.  At this point, I’m starting to think that we should make pizza dough in advance more often!

 

In other news, I have signed up to be a seafood watch advocate for the Monterey Bay Aquarium.  Basically, this means that they send me free educational materials and DVDs on the subject of sustainable seafood in exchange for my pledge to share my knowledge with others.  You, dear readers, are my official “others.”  Expect to see more posts in the future about eco-friendly fish choices!  I’ll try to cover all of the bases, but if you have specific questions, please feel free to shoot them my way.  I’ll be happy to answer them the best I can.  Besides being delicious and healthy, many types of seafood are among the most environmentally friendly and sustainable meat choices that are widely available.  Unfortunately, there are a lot of bad options out there too.  Some fishing practices damage sea habitat, overly deplete wild fish populations, and create excessive bycatch.  Fish farming is also a mixed bag–some operations are environmentally responsible and help reduce pressure on wild populations, while others are less great.  Above and beyond the environmental concerns with fish, there are also health concerns with fish consumption due to mercury pollution.  For all these reasons, it is important to be educated about your options when purchasing seafood.

IMG_1196 

What is your favorite type of fish or seafood?  Do you have any questions about seafood or fishing practices?

Responses

  1. So true about the seafood- I must admit that my knowledge is sorely lacking about it.

    I love what you did with the dough! That’s really clever and creative.

  2. Thanks for becoming an advocate and helping us spread the sustainable seafood message.

    Humberto Kam
    Monterey Bay Aquarium

  3. I am very much looking forward to your posts regarding sustainable seafood. I too am very unknowledgeable about the topic but am eager to learn more. My favorite fishy picks are ahi tuna and salmon, classics 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

