Posted by: Hil | July 4, 2009

Happy Independence Day!

I feel completely content right now.  I am at Blueberry Mom’s house for the next week.  I have had a day full of delicious food, good conversation and laughter.  I don’t think I could have asked for a better Fourth of July.

 CIMG2198

One of the things that I love about hanging out with my family is that we have very similar ideas about how to best spend a holiday.  Grocery shopping, cooking, and eating appropriately seasonal food invariably figure very high on the list.  Thus, today was pretty much all about the food.  For brunch, I made everyone whole grain french toast with fresh berries.  After breakfast, we all headed over to a local farm to obtain food for dinner.

 CIMG2207

I love this place.  Everything is so fresh and perfect.

CIMG2205

When I saw the beautiful selection of pit fruit, I literally did a dance in the middle of the stand.  The Lemonator laughed at me, but I didn’t care.

 CIMG2206  

I couldn’t wait to get home before digging in, so I started munching on apricots in the car.  Heaven.  Pit fruit needs to be picked perfectly ripe and eaten immediately.  It doesn’t travel well, so if you don’t live somewhere near where it grows, its incredibly hard to get anything good.  Whenever I visit my mom in the summer, I always stuff myself with fresh peaches, nectarines and apricots.

CIMG2209 

Next, we went to the local fishmonger.  In my opinion, its best to buy fish with an open mind.  It’s usually best to go with whatever is the freshest rather than what you think you want going in.  Today, the swordfish looked really fresh and delicious, so we brought some of that home.  It ended up being perfect, because swordfish is a very firm fish, perfect for grilling.  It became our main course at dinner.  We brushed it with lime and olive oil, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and barbecued it until it was just barely cooked through.  I have eaten swordfish in restaurants before and it tasted nothing like this stuff.  The swordfish I had tried in the past was always really tough.  This fish was tender and delicious.

CIMG2217

To go with the fish, I made a fresh fruit salsa with peaches, apricots, mint, cilantro, red onion and lime.  The fish had a wonderful, delicate flavor all on its own, but the salsa was really delicious with it.  For side dishes, Blueberry Mom made a delicious gazpatcho and the Lemonator barbecued corn.  We had a delicious Santa Barbara Sauvignon Blanc to go with it.  We were all stuffed at the end of the meal, but it was a good stuffed…the sort of stuffed where your belly is full of tons of fresh produce and fish.  You feel satiated and content, but not weighed down.

CIMG2228

We sang a couple of good patriotic songs and are now settling down to watch a movie and listen to the neighbors’ fireworks.  I hope you are all having a wonderful holiday.

Responses

  1. I love those flat peaches, I want to eat them all!

  2. Looks like a great time! The french toast looks divine.

  3. Beautiful fruits!

  4. That fruit looks delicious! Are the pit fruits grown near where your mom lives?

  5. Your content feeling is nice. Enjoy the trip. 🙂

  6. Your pictures are beautiful. Enjoy being home.

  7. Yes, the fruit is all grown here. In the Spring the trees are gorgeous with pink blossoms.


Leave a Reply

Categories

