Posted by: Hil | July 21, 2009

Baked Eggs in Tomato Nests

CIMG2410

Los Angeles has finally figured out that it is summer, and I have finally figured out which farmers markets carry decent pit fruit.  Between the heat and the large number of peaches and plums I am consuming, I haven’t been very hungry at dinner time for the past few days.  I found the recipe for the above in my ever-useful tapas cookbook.  I imagine that it would make a great brunch dish, but it also makes a great dinner-ish bite for a not-so-hungry day, and it makes great use of the delicious tomatoes that are finally in season.  The flavor of the tomatoes becomes really sweet and concentrated in the oven.

To make them, you take a tomato and take a thin slice off of the top.  Then carefully scoop out all of the inside flesh and seeds using a spoon and, if needed, a knife.  Turn the tomatoes upside down on some paper towels to drain for a few minutes–you want them as dry as possible on the inside.  Next, place the tomatoes in an ovenproof dish or dishes.  Small individual ramekins work well, but you can also put multiple tomatoes in a larger dish.  Next, crack an egg into each tomato, then top with a little salt, pepper and grated cheese.  My book recommended parmesan, but you can use whatever cheese you like–I used some garlic jack from the farmers market, and it was amazing.  Bake the tomatoes in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until the eggs are just set.  I garnished mine with a little cayenne pepper at the very last minute.

I have been neglecting the blog somewhat of late.  You can blame a crazy week at work (which included a evening ride along with a patrol car in Compton) and these guys.  Meet the Blueberry Cats.  (Pictured below playing with the Lemonator’s shoelaces.)

CIMG2425

This is Kimba.  He is a large-ish kitten who is convinced that he is a great adventurer and explorer.  He likes to climb places were he should not be and to set on my laptop while it rests in its docking station.

CIMG2419

This is Bagheera.  He is shy, but very affectionate.

Bagheera

Somehow, when I get home from work, these guys manage to distract me before I make it onto my computer!

Responses

  1. Love the recipe. So simple and yet it sounds delicious, can’t wait to try it!

  2. CUTE CATS!!!

  3. Adorable kitties! And I really love the idea of eggs in the tomatoes; I’ve heard of ground meat or rice or quinoa being stuffed intomatoes but never eggs. So cool!

  4. Kimba has the cutest face!!!

  5. Yep. Making these tomatoes very soon. What did you do with the inside of the tomato?

  6. wow- yummy! Thanks for this idea!
    -muffy
    ps love the kitties 🙂

  7. I have a kitty named Bagheera too! Yay Jungle Book!


Leave a Reply

Categories

