Posted by: Hil | August 17, 2009

Experiments, Successful and Otherwise

CIMG2497 

I was watching the show $10 Dinners on Food Network last weekend and saw the host make an applesauce granita, which was basically just applesauce and a squeeze of lemon frozen in a shallow dish and then fluffed up.  I was skeptical, but figured that the recipe was too easy not to try.  I am a convert!  I love a good applesauce, but I find that I am rarely in the mood to eat something with so little texture.  Freezing it and fluffing it makes the most fantastic frozen dessert that is really refreshing and fun to eat.  Try it before the weather cools down!

Today, I was feeling a bit ambitious and decided to try a friend’s recipe for butternut squash souffle.   It smelled absolutely amazing while it was baking, and when I pulled it out of the oven, I was greeted with a beautifully brown, crusty top.

CIMG2518

Unfortunately, the minute that I attempted to remove a slice, it became very apparent that the souffle was uncooked mush on the inside!  I don’t know what I did wrong, but this picture really doesn’t do justice to how awful it looked in person.  I have been known to burst into tears at the sight of a labor-intensive cooking project gone horribly awry, but today I just laughed.  It’s been awhile since I’ve had an honest-to-goodness kitchen face plant, and I really think that they are good for the soul.   I ate the crusty, cooked brown parts off of the edges, which were delicious and made an excellent lunch.  Sometimes it takes something like an kitchen goof-up to remind you that failure isn’t really so scary.

CIMG2519

Life has been pretty stressful and scary for me lately for all of the typical twenty-something-job-hunting-in-a-recession reasons.  I’ve been putting so much pressure on myself to Do Everything Right and Be Prepared and it really gets to be too much sometimes.  I know that some of that emotion has spilled over to this blog.  I’ve had less time to post over the summer, and I somehow got it into my head that I should have some grand gastronomical revelation to post about every time I show my face.  I tell you, seeing that plate of uncooked squash mush was one of the most freeing sensations I have felt in a long time.  So here I am, mushy souffle and all!    

Responses

  1. Was that my mom’s recipe? If so, I’m sorry!!! If not, I can send you hers if want to try again!

  2. I saw the one about the frozen apple sauce too….i am so glad you tried it and liked it…i am now going to try it this weekend.

  3. Cool applesauce idea!

    Too bad about the souffle- some recipes just aren’t meant to be.

  4. I haven’t been able to catch that show yet, but I really wanna see it! Looks like it’s worth watching.


Leave a Reply

Categories

