Posted by: Hil | August 18, 2009

Carbonara and Red Pepper Soup

CIMG2547 

One of my very favorite foods in the world is roasted red pepper soup.  It’s a very simple recipe, but somewhat time consuming if you roast the peppers yourself, so I usually only have it on special occasions.  But I found myself with a bag of bell peppers from Costco that really needed to be used, so I summoned the motivation to make it.  Oh my goodness this stuff is good!  The recipe in the link calls for a splash of cream at the end, but I made it without today and it was still amazing.  (If you leave out the cream and use vegetable broth, its a great vegan-friendly food that tastes really rich and special.)  I toyed with a number of possibilities to round out dinner, but the Lemonator put in a strong vote for spaghetti carbonara, so that won the day.  I think of carbonara as such a rich food, but it doesn’t have to be.   My quick weeknight carbonara usually just has bacon, egg and maybe a little parmesan in it, and with all of those ingredients, a little goes a long way. 

I love bacon.  Who doesn’t really?  And a little bit of bacon goes such a long way in making a dish flavorful.  The problem is, bacon comes in those big packs that always seem to go bad before I can use them.  I saw a tip on Food Network that you can freeze bacon in the package and then slice across for instant bacon pieces.  I tried it today, and it really worked.  Because of the high fat content in bacon, it doesn’t freeze completely solid and it’s pretty easy to cut straight out of the freezer.  I am excited…now I can keep bacon around and use a bit in my cooking every now and then without committing to eating bacon every meal for a week.

CIMG2545 

Tomorrow is the first day of my last year of school.  I’ve loved work and haven’t really relished the thought of returning to school, but at the eleventh hour, I started to really look forward to it.  I went to school today to buy my textbooks, and I forgot just how therapeutic it is for me to walk around my beautiful university campus every day.  And while I probably work harder in school than I do at my jobs, I am really looking forward to returning to my flexible student schedule and shorter commute.

Responses

  1. That soup is bomb!!! I eat it all the time with fancy grilled cheeses. Your carbonara sounds amazing too!!! I can’t remember the last time I ate carbonara. May have to make that soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

