Posted by: Hil | August 27, 2009

Peas and Bacon

CIMG2686 

This is just a quick post, but I have two things I wanted to share with you.  First, my dinner tonight.  Occasionally, I just don’t have much of an appetite at dinner, and tonight was one of those nights.  I am a firm believer in not skipping meals even when you aren’t hungry because I really think that the ritual and habit of eating something are important.  So I always try to keep a list of dishes in my repertoire that are low calories, but still register as a meal experience rather than a snack; things like vegetable soup, flamenco eggs, and, now, peas with bacon.  The only things in this dish are bacon, peas, salt and pepper.  I cut the bacon into small strips and fried until crisp, drained off the excess fat, and added frozen peas to the pan.  I seasoned with salt and pepper and ate as soon as they were hot.  This was exactly what I was craving.  I would definitely make this again as a side dish for a normal dinner or as an option for a not-hungry night.

Also, I have some interesting news on the sustainable seafood.  In response to customer feedback, Trader Joe has promised to provide more sustainable seafood and to make purchasing decisions in accordance with the seafood watch.  We’ll see how this shapes up, but it just goes to show that stores really are paying attention, and that if customers want sustainable choices, we’ll get them!

Responses

  1. I love peas. This is such a great, simple combo.

  2. Oh man, I haven’t had peas in forever! I feel like the bacon will inspire even non-veggie lovers to enjoy this dish 🙂

    And go TJs! That’s great news.


Leave a Reply

Categories

