Posted by: Hil | August 31, 2009

Yoga and Baked Goods

 

CIMG2749

The best way to start a weekend, in my opinion, is with a good long bout of yoga followed by coffee and a freshly baked pastry.  I’d missed my favorite yoga class for a few weeks running due to various summer-related changes in schedule and it felt absolutely amazing to be back.  I could practically feel all of the tension melting out of my body and all of this energy welling up in me.  Ever since class, I’ve noticed myself breathing more deeply and having better posture without even thinking about it.  I really need to get it through my head that yoga is vital to my stress management and general well-being.  After class, I walked to a favorite bakery and sat outside with a perfect latte and a freshly baked blueberry scone.  I love the pastries at this particular bakery because they are rich, but small, and they are the perfect late-breakfast bite.   

CIMG2711

I don’t know if it was the return to yoga or if the stars just aligned, but I had lots of creativity to burn in the kitchen all weekend long.  I had a bit of leftover cannellini bean so I tried pureeing it with a bit of water and good olive oil to make a spread for bread.  It ended up tasting very good.

CIMG2713

I made another batch of applesauce granita.  I’m getting the hang of fluffing the crystals, so the texture was a lot better this time.  The key is to scrape across the top with a fork and avoid breaking off big pieces as much as possible. 

CIMG2717   

Saturday afternoon, my mouth was craving something sweet and my stomach was craving something full of protein, so I made a one-egg sweet omelet.  I loved British mystery novels when I was a kid, and I learned about sweet omelets from Strong Poison by Dorothy L. Sayers.  You beat some sugar into the egg and fill the center with jam or other sweet filling.  I used some meyer lemon and ginger preserves.  Many people find the idea of a sweet omelet very odd, but I love them.

CIMG2721

For Sunday afternoon lunch, I made another batch of rotini with lemon-egg sauce.  This was a simpler version than last time…just peas, fresh parsley and the lemon sauce.  It’s amazing that a sauce with no butter or cream can have such a perfectly creamy, velvety texture.  And its so cheap to make!  This is going on the regular dinner rotation.

CIMG2727

Sunday afternoon, I made a batch of peanut butter balls using a slight modification of Tina’s recipe for almond butter balls.  These things are a perfectly little snack for when hunger strikes.   I toasted 1/4 cup rolled oats and 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour in a dry skillet along with a pinch of cinnamon, then combined the toasted mixture with 1/4 cup of granola, 2 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter, and 2 tablespoons of agave nectar.  I then rolled the mixture into balls and let them chill.  They are firm enough to eat after an hour or so, but they tasted even better the next day.  The cinnamon really infuses through the balls and the granola gives a great crunchy texture.

CIMG2740 

I also tried my hand at preparing red lentils, which are quicker cooking and creamier than green lentils.

CIMG2708

I have a busy day lined up tomorrow:  meeting with career services in the morning, followed by a packed schedule of classes and then dinner with the in-laws, who are visiting.  I am off to get some shut-eye.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a great weekend! Those peanut butter balls sound delicious – I can’t wait to try them.

  2. The pb balls sound fabulous! And so simple! I’m making them for sure. 😀

    Oh, and in answer to your question about beets on my blog, they’re so incredibly easy to prepare from raw! 😀 I love to roast them. Simply cut the stem and root part of the beet off, and peel off any thick skin. Then dice it up, throw it on a sprayed cookie sheet, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and heat in a 425 F oven for 20-25 minutes. Flip it once between cooking times.

    Easy peasy! 😀

  3. My mouth is watering. That all looks AMAZING!


Leave a Reply

Categories

