Posted by: Hil | October 3, 2009

Mushrooms

I went on something of a mushroom bender this week.  The Lemonator hates mushrooms, so I rarely go to the the trouble of making them just for myself.  But this week I had a huge craving for mushrooms and I ate them almost every day.  One thing that I love about mushrooms is that they are so versatile:  equally at home with bright or earthy flavors.  Here are a few of my favorite mushroom recipes from this week, from lightest to richest.

#1:  Salad a la Aunt D

CIMG3039

This is my version of a salad that my Aunt D made for me years ago.  I’ve forgotten most of what was in the original, but the secret ingredient was mushroom slices marinated in lemon juice and seasoning salt.  Sounds simple, but the flavor just explodes in your mouth with every bite of mushroom.  The effect is rich, but bright all at the same time.  This is one of those rare salads that really doesn’t need an oil based dressing to seem complete.

Ingredients

    • mushrooms
    • juice of one lemon
    • seasoning salt
    • diced bell pepper
    • diced avocado
    • salad greens (I used spinach, anything works)
    • roasted asparagus (optional…I had it on hand)

 

Instructions

Let the mushrooms marinade in the lemon juice for at least an hour.  Combine all ingredients, including the leftover marinade, and toss.  Season with extra seasoning salt if desired. 

#2:  Mushrooms and Green Beans with Lemon and Garlic

CIMG3005

This is a delicious side dish and also makes a great breakfast pairing with scrambled eggs.  I pre-marinade the mushrooms in lemon juice, similar to the recipe above.  This reduces carmelization during cooking, but also keeps the mushrooms plump and juicy.  I saute the mushrooms in olive oil until they are just brown, add a dash of white wine, turn up the heat, and flash cook the green beans.  At the very last minute, I stir in crushed garlic.  Serve as soon as the garlic is cooked.

#3:  Sauteed Mushrooms with White Wine and Herbs

CIMG3045

This is necessary component of Thanksgiving for me, and is one of my favorite things to eat with everything from chicken to burgers.  This is mushrooms in all of their rich, meaty glory.  People who think they don’t like mushrooms are known to change their mind after tasting these.

Ingredients:

  • sliced mushrooms
  • crushed garlic
  • herbs (either flat leaf parsley or a combo of minced rosemary and thyme)
  • White wine or sherry
  • olive oil
  • butter
  • salt and pepper

 

Instructions:

1.  Heat oil and butter in a pan over medium heat.  Add herbs (if using thyme and rosemary) and wait until the kitchen smells fragrant.  Add mushrooms.  You really want the mushrooms to get brown and caramelized.  They will shrink a lot…this is fine.

2.  When the mushrooms are caramelized to your liking, add the garlic.  After a minute, deglaze the pan with white wine or sherry, scraping up any bits on the bottom.  Let the mushrooms cook until they have absorbed all of the liquid.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add more butter if desired (the more the better in this recipe).

3.  Mushrooms may be served immediately or reheated for later.  Serve hot with a sprinkling of chopped parsley, if desired.

Responses

  1. How tasty! I am a huge fan of mushrooms and could probably eat it everyday.In fact, I had an omelette with oyster mushrooms for lunch today.

    I tend to use Chinese sauces for my mushroom cooking but these are so light and refreshing sounding recipes. I’ll be sure to add your mushroom recipes to my collection.

  2. I love the marinated mushroom idea – it’s the little things like that that I never think to do to jazz up my salads.

  3. I just had a huge balsamic grilled portabella mushroom cap with dinner tonight and had some white button ones on my salad. I love mushrooms too! Thanks so much for these recipes, I am definitely going to pass them on to our cook! And I will obviously try ’em at home 🙂

  4. Great post! I love mushrooms and can’t wait to try out these dishes next time I get a craving (which is often). Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

