Posted by: Hil | October 21, 2009

Spicy Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes

CIMG3127

I have a new favorite snack food and side dish:  twice baked sweet potatoes spiked with hot sauce.  You guys have to try these!  The combination of sweet, spicy and salty flavors is really yummy.  As an added bonus, these are actually healthy enough to be worth making regularly.  You get all of the fun flavors and textures of a twice baked potato with a lot more vitamins and fiber and a lot less saturated fat.  Depending on how big your potatoes are, they make a great snack, side dish or main course.  They keep well and the leftovers are excellent in sack lunches.  They can be made with freshly roasted sweet potatoes or with cold leftovers.

CIMG3132

The idea for these was born after I saw a recipe for chipotle garlic twice baked potatoes and decided that I had to have some.  I made a small batch the standard way–russet potatoes mashed with cream and flavored with plenty of cheddar, bacon, scallions, and, of course, hot sauce.  They were amazing and I found myself regretting that I had made so few.  I had a few roasted baby sweet potatoes lying around (a good thing to keep on hand in the winter), and I decided to try my hand at twice baked sweet potatoes.

I didn’t originally set out to make these healthy, but as I worked I realized how easy it would be to do so.  Unlike normal potatoes, sweet potato flesh is so naturally creamy that you don’t need a lot of butter and cream to attain a perfectly creamy texture for the filling.  The flavors of the sweet potato and hot sauce are strong enough that you can’t really taste cheese added to the filling, so a little sprinkle of sharp white cheddar on top gives you just as much impact.  I used prosciutto instead of bacon and the transformation was complete.  I haven’t listed amounts for the ingredients because it really depends on how big your potatoes are…just go by taste and they’ll turn out great.

What you need:

  • roasted sweet potatoes (not yams)
  • milk, cream or broth to moisten the potatoes
  • prosciutto, cut into thin strips and cooked until crisp
  • minced scallions or chives
  • hot sauce (preferably one that is very flavorful and not just hot…I like All Spice Cafe Cayenne Habanero)
  • extra sharp white cheddar or other flavorful hard cheese
  • salt, if needed

What to do:

  1. Cut the sweet potatoes in half.  Scoop out the flesh into a bowl.  Leave a small rim of flesh still attached to the skin–you want to create nice sturdy cups to stuff with your filling. 
  2. Mash the flesh with a fork.  Add just enough liquid that the mixture becomes creamy and smooth.  (I used mostly chicken broth with just a splash of cream.)   Mix in the crispy prosciutto, herbs and hot sauce.  Give the filling a taste and season with salt, if needed.
  3. Spoon the mixture back into the potato skins.  Sprinkle with grated cheese and more minced scallions.
  4. Bake at 350 until the filling is hot and the cheese is melted.  Serve!
Responses

  1. This looks delicious! Good idea.

  2. Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh. Twice-baked potatoes were most definitely one of my favorite foods when I was a kid! Now, that I’m more in sweet potato mode I had nearly written them off as a delight of my past, until you! Thanks so much 🙂 I will be eating this @ Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

