Posted by: Hil | November 4, 2009

Perfect Egg in a Hole

CIMG3356

Eggs in a hole have been making the rounds in the blogosphere, which inspired me to make some for breakfast today.  I used to love these as a child and I don’t make them nearly often enough.  They are tasty, fun to eat, and provide a nice balance of protein, fat, carbohydrate and fiber to start your day.  The basic idea of egg in a hole couldn’t be more simple, but some people have reported having trouble getting them to come out right, so I thought I would offer my technique.

1.  Heat a pan over medium heat.  Add butter, olive oil or both to coat the bottom of the pan.

2.  Take a piece of bread and cut a hole out of the center using a small glass.  Put the bread in the pan.  When the first side is lightly browned, flip it over and move on to step 3. 

3.  Crack an egg into a custard cup or small bowl.  (I used an espresso shot glass.)Check to make sure that your pan is hot and slowly pour the egg into the hole.  If the white doesn’t start to cook immediately upon contact with the pan, your pan isn’t hot enough–wait to add the rest of the egg until you see the white begin to cook.  The idea is to let the cooked white seal off the opening so that the egg stays more or less in the hole and doesn’t spill all over your pan.  Once the aforementioned sealing has occurred, reduce the heat to low.  Season with salt and pepper. 

4.  When the white is cooked through, put the pan under the broiler until the yolk is done to your liking.  I like my yolk hot, thick, and not quite set, so that when I cut into it, it oozes out over the toasty bread.  You can also cook the yolk until it is completely set, in which case you can eat the thing with your fingers rather than a knife and fork.  Enjoy!

 CIMG3352

Responses

  1. My mom used to make these for me all the time — but we called them “Donkey Eggs.” I think they were originally called “Dunking Eggs” b because you dunked the bread into the runny yolk, but somewhere along the way they turned into Donkey Eggs πŸ™‚ And they are delicious

  2. one of my favorite breakfasts ever. So, SO good πŸ˜‰

  3. I must have that. Must! Yummy. Nothing like a runny yolk and toast. Mmmm. Perfection.


Leave a Reply

Categories

