Posted by: Hil | November 8, 2009

I Love Costco

CIMG3413 

The Lemonator and I made a run to Costco this weekend, which is always very fun for me.  We once wondered whether we would get enough use out of a Costco card as a two person household, but it has been invaluable.  One of my favorite things about Costco is that it provides me with an excuse to buy wine.  I am no wine connoisseur–I don’t like spending a lot of money on wine and I don’t know much about different labels and varieties, but I know the difference between a good and bad bottle of wine.  In my opinion, Costco has the best value around for the casual wine drinker.  I don’t think I’ve ever bought a bad bottle of  wine there.  The variety is nice, but not overwhelming, and they conveniently label their wines with descriptions and recent ratings to help you make a choice.

CIMG3415

I also love Costco’s selection of seafood–it very fresh and reasonably priced and the majority is from sustainable sources.  Again, the variety is very good.  Usually, I buy some, but…

CIMG3411

…the Lemonator wanted steak.  Costco has great values on a variety of good quality steaks, and even some organic meat.  The Lemonator saw some nice tri tip steaks on sale and we ended up taking some of those home.  Tri tip is actually one of my favorite cuts of meat.  It isn’t a particularly pretty shape, but it’s flavorful, tender and lean–an unusual combination–and you can often find it on sale.  We had some for dinner tonight, along with a side of spinach with olive oil, salt, pepper and a splash of red wine.  On weeks when I know I’m going to be busy, those giant pound clamshells of prewashed baby spinach at Costco are a real lifesaver when it comes to making dinner.

CIMG3452

We also had some butternut squash soup which I had prepared the night before.  I have a new super easy and delicious all-purpose vegetables soup method.  Roast your vegetable along with a quartered onion and, if you like, a head of garlic.  When they are done, puree the vegetables in batches and add to a pot.  Thin with water and good stock, season with salt and any other desired flavorings, maybe add a splash of cream and you are done.  Roasting the garlic and onion means great flavor, less chopping, and no getting garlic and onion all over your hands.  Super simple.  You can also eat some of the roasted vegetable for a meal and use the rest for your soup.

CIMG3456

And, of course, some wine.

CIMG3459     

Costco also provided us with some delicious Jonagold apples.  Apples are one of my favorite fall foods.  I find that they aren’t very filling on their own, so when I am in the mood for an apple snack, I like to add some sharp cheddar (for tart apples) or peanut butter (for sweeter apples).  I always buy natural peanut butter, which is harder to dip with than the non-natural kind:  it is a little too thick to adhere to the apple properly when you dip into it.  You can always spread the peanut butter directly on the apples, which I sometimes do, but when I am in a dipping mood, I sometimes mix equal parts peanut butter and warm water and maybe a drizzle of honey to make a dipping sauce.  At first, this will look very scary and like you have added too much water, but if you keep mixing and mixing, it will eventually become a cohesive and creamy dip.

CIMG3416 

See?  I used a tablespoon of peanut butter here and it was more than enough to dip all of the apple pieces multiple times.

CIMG3421  

Kimba has decided to be my blogging buddy and do his sleep yoga next to me while I type.  I think that I will join him in sleep, although perhaps not in the contortions.  Goodnight everyone!

CIMG3463

Responses

  1. I love Costco! They have a great selection of wine (not that I’m looking) and great seafood. They have great salmon. Cute pic of the kitty. Mine sleeps the same way. Your food looks great.

    PS – I’m totally looking at the wine!

  2. I TOO love costco!! great post!!

  3. Neat dipping idea with the PB! I’ll have to try that. Normally I spread waaaaaay too much PB on my fruit, so dipping might help out with the portion control, especially if its mixed with water.


Leave a Reply

Categories

