Posted by: Hil | November 10, 2009

Seeing Green

CIMG3443

I adore all things citrus, and at the farmer’s market this weekend, I saw a citrus fruit that I had never tried:  the pomelo, which is a huge fruit with a beautiful light green rind.

CIMG3446 

I cut into one for breakfast this morning.  The flesh was rosy pink and reminiscent of grapefruit without the bitterness.

CIMG3489

I am seeing green both literally and metaphorically today.  I love reading other food blogs, and it seems that quite a lot of the people who write them have gone through some switch in career plans.  Kath and Heather are obvious examples, and just today Angela and Jenna were talking about exciting new directions their careers are taking.   I know they have all gone through a lot to get where they are, and I am genuinely happy for all of them.  And I am jealous.  Because I feel stuck. 

While I love many things about it, law school as a whole has not been a fun experience for me.  I feel drained and unfulfilled.  I am unhappy.  I had several wonderful months during my spring externship and summer internships, so I know that there are places in the legal world where I can use my skills and be happy.  But right now, I am just so fed up with where I am and I wish I knew when I would get a break.

On a more uplifting note, this blog has given me a creative outlet and something to do that actually felt meaningful to me at some times when I was feeling pretty dry.  So thank you all for reading.  I mean that.

Responses

  1. I just wanted to write a comment to say you’re not alone. I know exactly how you feel.

  2. So – I have to say….

    FOLLOW YOUR HEART! (for 2 reasons!)

    1 – i was a teacher and SO SO SO SO SO unhappy. the idea of teaching for another second made me want to die. so while it was TERRIBLY scary up and quitting what i just spend 5 years (AND LOTS OF MONEY doing) – i knew it was the right thing. I haven’t looked back since, and everything worked out!
    2 – my husband is in the same spot as you are. we are 1.5 years in and he wants to quit. while im not thrilled at losing all that money – in the long run – i want him to be happy

    FOLLOW YOUR HEART!!! 🙂

  3. I know exactly how you feel – I’m in that stuck place, too. I’m not sure what the future holds, but I know that this stuck place won’t be here forever!

  4. I also picked up a pumelo in the farmers market about 2 weeks ago. I was not a huge fan because I like to eat my grapefruits by peeling and sectioning them, and the inside membranes of this fruit were so tough!

    I think I know how you’re feeling about school/work. I’m currently trying to decide if I’m miserable because of my specific job or my career choice, and what I can do to fix it. I’m here for you if you want to give me a call and chat.

  5. I’m stuck too. Totally and utterly stuck and I have no idea how to fix it. The pomelo looks good.

  6. That fruit looks beautiful!

    And I’m so sorry to hear about that. Be happy. Do what YOU want to do. It’s not worth it if you don’t enjoy it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

