Posted by: Hil | November 13, 2009

Down with Perfectionism

CIMG3531

I have a tendency to fall into perfectionism.  That perfectionism loves to sneak up on me when I’m not looking, and one of its favorite places to settle is in my kitchen.  That little voices in my head likes to tell me that if I can’t cook a three course meal, I might as well not cook at all.  Perfectionism promises to make my food better, but really it just makes me hungry and often bored, to boot.  I’ve been having so much fun with cooking the last few days, and its really just because I’m not thinking too hard and am giving myself permission to play.  Yesterday’s lunch was a plate of penne with shredded chicken, spinach, carrots, peppers, garlic, capers, olives, red pepper flakes, rosemary, lemon and olive oil.  It was sort of like a fall version of pasta primavera, but with some of the pungent, spicy flavors of a puttanesca.  It was delicious and really easy to make.  The great thing about pasta is that you have some time to kill while the pasta cooks, so why not spend the time chopping up whatever you have in your fridge?

We weren’t very hungry last night, so I whipped up a simple batch of fresh pea soup:  sauteed onion, frozen peas, chicken broth, salt and pepper, pureed in my mini blender.  This is so simple but so good.

CIMG3543

Today I was craving pita pizza for lunch.  I couldn’t decide what to put on my pizza so I made two halves.  The first half was pumpkin with parmesan shavings, sage, pumpkin seeds, and a few drops of extra virgin olive oil.  The second half was classic tomato sauce, mozzarella, sun dried tomato and french minced herbs.  I love pita pizzas because they provide so much flavor and so much room to play for so little work.

CIMG3562 

For breakfasts and snacks, I’ve been loving toast with butter and pumpkin butter, which I initially learned how to make from the Pioneer Woman Cooks.   She recommends combining equal parts pumpkin puree, nonfat plain yogurt and sugar and season with pumpkin pie spice to make a delicious spread for toast.   I like to use honey instead of sugar and use somewhat less of it.  Either way, it is a sweet and delicious fall spread.

CIMG3550 

The husband is coming home soon, so I am going to wrap this post up and enjoy my Friday evening.   Happy weekend, everyone!

Responses

  1. It’s more fun to just dive in and experiment with food, isn’t it?

  2. I’m the epitome of a perfectionist, but I’m working on changing that.

    Enjoy your time with your husband!

  3. Mighty impressed with your pita pizzas.Puts my pumpkin pizzas to shame 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

