Posted by: Hil | November 27, 2009

Thanksgiving

CIMG3706 

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!  Breakfast today was the world’s best post post thanksgiving dish:  a mound of mashed potatoes topped with wilted spinach, prosciutto and a sunny side up egg.  AMAZING.  I invented it out of what I had leftover in the fridge and Blueberry Mom wants to establish it as a yearly tradition.  Fine by me!

Thanksgiving itself was great–we had the Lemonator’s whole wheat rolls for breakfast before singing at a bilingual Thanksgiving service at church.  Blueberry Mom said that my Spanish singing was pretty good, which made me excited.  I don’t speak Spanish, but as a singer you have to fake it!

 

CIMG3653

For a pre-dinner bite, I made scallops with bacon, sage, and bourbon butter sauce…

CIMG3668 

…roasted red pepper soup….

CIMG3670

…and a tray of munchies: dried persimmon, bell pepper, cranberry hazelnut crackers and nuts.

CIMG3672

Thanksgiving dinner itself was simple and traditional.  I joked that it consisted of turkey, vegetables and butter, which isn’t too far from the truth!  The Lemonator roasted our free-range turkey, which came out perfectly and provided lots of drippings for gravy.

CIMG3686

Blueberry Mom made heavenly mashed potatoes full of butter and cream, giblet gravy, and brandied cranberries.

CIMG3690

I made green beans with prosciutto and pine nuts.

CIMG3684

We also roasted brussel sprouts and carrots along with the turkey…

CIMG3679    

…and opened a bottle of bubbly.

CIMG3691

My plate.

CIMG3696

For dessert, I made pumpkin flan…

CIMG3698

…and hot puff pastry cinnamon twists.

CIMG3699

Blueberry Mom is here through the weekend, so we have lots of fun planned, including a trip to Cirque de Soleil tomorrow.  For now, I am going to bury my head in textbooks for a few hours.  Hope everyone is enjoying their holiday!

Responses

  1. Mmmm that breakfast combination sounds out of this world!

    And that pumpkin flan? Wow!

    Glad you had a good holiday!

  2. Happy belated Thanksgiving!!

    Oh my, Cirque is Soleil is INCREDIBLE!! Enjoy 🙂

  3. Goodness! That is alotttt of GOOOD looking food! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

