Posted by: Hil | January 5, 2010

Happy New Year

CIMG3793

Long time, no blog!  Finals ate my life for a few weeks.  I had every intention of blogging all of the delicious holiday food that came my way (yay tamales!), but cleverly forgot my camera while packing for my holiday travels.  But I am back now, camera in hand.

CIMG3759

You didn’t miss too much during finals.  I drank lots of espresso, ate lots of the Lemonator’s homemade chocolate chip cookies, and ate smoked salmon, my lucky brain food, before every test.

CIMG3763

A number of exciting food related presents came my way over Christmas.  The Lemonator gave me Ellie Krieger’s new book, which I can’t wait to try out.  I’ve already tried a smoked salmon scramble with carmelized onions which was delicious.  The book also has the great idea of cutting bagels into thin slices and toasting them rather than eating them whole.  This is an excellent means of getting lots of lox and cream cheese and onion before you fill up on bagel, which, while delicious, is one of the most unreasonably caloric food substances on the planet.  Blueberry Sis gave me a beautiful assortment of gourmet salts that I will blog in more detail later.  I can’t wait to try them!

CIMG3791

I have a free morning before I have to head off to class, so I’m going to finish up unpacking for a bit and see if I feel inspired to make anything interesting for lunch.  It’s good to be back!

Responses

  1. Welcome back! Those cookies look absolutely fantastic… as does the cookbook. And you know I can’t wait to hear about the tamales. I hope you had a wonderful holiday season and new year, looking forward to seeing you around more often 🙂

  2. Welcome back, Hil!

  3. Happy New Year! I can’t wait to hear about the gourmet salts. I’ve finally jumped on the sea salt bandwagon and it’s been life-changing.

  4. I’m glad you’re back. Hope finals went well. I love tamales. Mmmmm. And smoked salmon… OMG.

  5. That bagel recipe sounds SO good! Wowzers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

