Posted by: Hil | June 14, 2010

Throwing Things Together

CIMG4026

Yesterday I ran across someone who linked to my blog awhile back in the comments section of another blog.  The aforementioned commenter described my blog as notable for my thrown together soups and salads and for my love of spinach.  I laughed when I read that.  It’s not a bad description actually.  My food is almost always thrown together on the spur of the moment.  And I do love spinach!   For today’s lunch, I threw together a clean-out-my-fridge dish of whole wheat penne in tomato sauce, jazzed up with extra herbs, garlic, leftover shredded chicken, bell pepper, and, of course, spinach.  I topped it with a bit of parmesan and a few pine nuts for crunch.  The thing I love most about pasta is that the time it takes the water to boil and the pasta to cook provides just enough time for me to rummage in my fridge and chop up whatever vegetables I have on hand.  I can have a pretty pasta meal on the table just as fast as a boring one, so why not do something fun?

Dinner was also a thrown together affair.  The husband was going to cook, but after a day full of studying, I needed to take a break and do something with my hands.  I  sauteed tofu, cabbage, carrot, bell pepper and garlic in a mixture of oil, soy sauce, and rice wine vinegar.  To finish it off, I added some sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds.  There is something very calming and focusing about chopping up a pile of vegetables, and I felt much better by the time food was on the table.

CIMG4033

I am such a fan of tofu and need to figure out more ways to prepare it.  I’m eating somewhat less meat these days for budget reasons, but sometimes my body just needs a good hit of protein and a break from starch.  Tofu and eggs to the rescue!  I know lots of things to do with eggs, but my tofu preparation skills are pretty basic.  Any ideas?

Responses

  1. My newest favorite thing to do with tofu is to make it for spaghetti, just like i would use ground beef or turkey. I crumble it up and simmer it with homemade tomato sauce.


Leave a Reply

Categories

