Posted by: Hil | June 17, 2010

Simple Pan Fried Sole with Lemon

CIMG4049

I love fish, and Dover Sole is one of the few varieties that I can afford to eat on anything approaching a regular basis.   I’ve experimented quite a bit with the best way to prepare it.   Many of my experiments were less than successful–sole is a pretty bland fish and the thin pieces I can buy at Costco had a tendency to fall apart when I tried to cook them.  I finally happened on this version which is simple, flavorful, and reliably delicious.  I always have the ingredients on hand, but the result is much more than the sum of its parts.

First, season the pieces of fish with salt and dredge them in flour seasoned with granulated garlic.  (I don’t usually dredge things, but after some experimentation, I have found that this is the best way to create browning without making the fish stick and tear.)  Cook over medium high heat in olive oil spiked with butter.

CIMG4041

When they are browned on one side, flip them over and top with the tiniest dabs of butter, which well melt over the top and be delicious.  Squeeze some lemon over the top.  A pinch of fresh or dried herbs is also delicious.  Cook until the other side is nicely browned.

CIMG4042

Serve with spinach sauteed in the remaining lemon juice.  Enjoy!

CIMG4047

Responses

  1. That sounds so quick, easy, and delicious! I’ve been trying to think of some simple fish dishes to make and I’ll definitely have to try this.

  2. Mmmm sounds great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

