Posted by: Hil | April 13, 2013

Feel Better Foods

I am still sick, although gradually getting  better with rest.  I thought I would round up some of my personal favorite classic foods, beverages and home remedies for cold and flu season.

Chicken soup (of course!), particularly if you can talk someone else into making it for you.

Hot and sour soup.  If you have no one to cook you soup and are too sick to do it yourself, I highly recommend having some hot and sour soup delivered from your neighborhood Chinese restaurant.  I find it incredibly comforting and soothing on a sore throat.

Hot water mixed with lemon juice, agave nectar (or honey) and a liberal dose of cayenne pepper.  One of my clients taught me this remedy and there is nothing like it for clearing out a stuffy nose.

CIMG4194

Horseradish sauce.  In a pinch, you can help clear out sinuses quickly by eating a spoonful of horseradish sauce straight.  Spicy mustard also works, although not as well.  I’ve used this trick when I woke up in the middle of the night with a stuffy nose and couldn’t get back to sleep.

Emergen-C.  My father in law swears by the stuff.  I usually drink it cold, but it is also very good hot when you are ill.

CIMG4202

Hot Toddy.  The official cocktail of cold and flu season:  1 shot whiskey or brandy, 1 tbp. honey, hot water and lemon.  If you like, you can also add cinnamon, ginger or clove.

CIMG4198

Responses

  1. Swears by it is putting it mildly. He sends us care packages full of it at the first mention of a sniffle!


Leave a Reply

Categories

