Posted by: Hil | April 16, 2013

Cilantro Lime Spaghetti With Shredded Chicken

CIMG4247   

The Lemonator and I have soft tacos and Caldo de Pollo for dinner on a regular basis.  Both are simple, quick, sustaining and flavorful.  The problem with taco night (or Caldo de Pollo night) is those pesky leftover bits of chopped onion, cilantro, lime wedges and cooked meat that are so difficult to incorporate into anything else.  Onion and cooked chicken or steak I can usually find a use for, but all too often my cilantro turns into a slimy mess in the fridge before I can figure out how to use it.  Pasta to the rescue!

CIMG4181

I figured that if lime and cilantro taste good in rice, they should taste good on another carbohydrate, too.  This lunchtime improvisation was surprisingly tasty.  While my whole wheat spaghetti cooked, I sautéed my leftover chopped onion and a clove of minced garlic in some olive oil.  I added my leftover shredded chicken in the pan and let it reheat.  When the pasta was cooked, I added it to the pan and stirred to combine everything.  I added fresh lime juice, a bit more olive oil, and LOTS of chopped cilantro.  This is definitely a cilantro lover’s recipe, but keep in mind that the cilantro will wilt down a lot and take on a much less assertive flavor when heated.  If you like cilantro, don’t be afraid to add plenty. 

CIMG4242

This was very tasty:  the bright lime flavor was the most pronounced, with the cilantro and garlic acting as strong supporting players.  Next time, I would add slivers of carrot along with the onion and garlic—I think the bittersweet crunchiness and bright orange color would have been just the thing to tie everything together.  The Lemonator is not a cilantro person, so I unfortunately cannot make this for dinner, but it can definitely stay in the rotation of post-taco night lunches for one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

