Posted by: Hil | September 25, 2008

Moroccan Oatmeal

SV402704

I know that the last thing the food blogging world needs is another oatmeal recipe, but this one is very special.  I first had Moroccan oatmeal at an amazing little brunch place called the Morning Glory Cafe in Ashland, Oregon.  We all mocked the person who ordered it–who orders oatmeal at a nice restaurant?–but once we tasted it, we were singing a different tune.  It was hearty and spicy, full of cinnamon and cardamom and studded with chunks of dried fruit, which had become melt-in-your mouth soft and sweet during cooking.  I’ve never had a better bowl of oatmeal in my life.  This is my attempt to recreate it.

First, add 1/2 cup oats and 1 tbsp pine nuts to a dry pot.  Also add spices:  cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, a touch of tumeric and a pinch of salt.  Turn on the heat and let the mixture toast until it begins to smell good.  Then add 1 cup water and bring the mixture to a simmer.  Next, add dried fruit:  diced dates, apricots and raisins.  Be prepared:  the dried fruit will rehydrate and suck up a lot of the water, so you may need to add extra water to maintain the consistency of the oatmeal as you want it.  Now add brown sugar to taste.  The dates and apricots a lot of sweetness, so if you really want to, you can skimp on or leave out the sugar, but to get the full experience, you should really add it with a reasonably liberal hand…there is something magical about the interplay between the spices and the rich sweetness of the brown sugar.  Cook the oatmeal to your desired consistency and enjoy!


Responses

  1. What an intriguing oatmeal variety!

  2. Oh Yum!!!

  3. Wow, how interesting! Definitely one of the more creative spins I’ve ever seen. I’d love to try it, thanks 🙂

  4. Awesome – and we definitely always need more oatmeal recipes 🙂

  5. If a brew a cup of Chai Tea and add it to you’re oatmeal you get similar flavors– it’s great!

  6. Sounds great!

  7. Thanks! I am always looking for new oatmeal OR for something to turn into oatmeal cookies. And it came with an interesting story. 🙂

  8. This looks awesome!

  9. That’s very interesting.
    Moroccan oatmeal.
    and the picture looks very detailed and awesome

  10. Well, I just came home from Ashland and decided to google Moroccan Oatmeal after eating it at the aforementioned Morning Glory Cafe. I don’t know about this recipe, but I can tell you the cafe oatmeal was out-of-this-world.

  11. I used to drive miles to get to that resturant for the morrocan oatmeal! Now I drive to Portland to get it at Old Wives Tale. Thank you for the recipe, I iwll try it out this weekend.

    Marsha

  12. We were just in Ashland and ate at the Morning Glory cafe. Guess what we ordered! So, I decided to search the web to find a recipe and BAM, there was yours! Thanks 🙂

  13. ok, I’m not the greatest cook. has anyone figured out the measurements?


Leave a comment

Categories